I Wish I Knew Where Things Come From... Anymore...

in Silver Bloggers4 months ago

I realize I might get labeled as "old fashioned" because I'm one of those strange individuals who actually gives a damn about where the things I use, and the food I eat, originally comes from.

0636-Beachy.jpg

Yes, I read labels, and I might become more or less predisposed to buying any given item depending on where it was made.

I'm willing to accept that maybe I'm unfairly jumping to conclusions but items made in certain parts of the world are almost invariably likely to be low quality copies of a better quality product, originally made somewhere else. And I find it slightly disturbing when I'm standing in a store and looking at something that actually isn't all that inexpensive and digging through the labeling I just discover that it comes from a place that is notorious for making cheap knockoffs of somebody else's product.

Perhaps some of my persnicketyness comes from the fact that I am an artist and a writer myself and I have been subjected to theft of my work in the past. And that's really all copyism is... profiting from somebody else's work.

Perhaps my issue is that the retail seller is trying to gouge people by taking something that wholesales for 1/10th of the real deal, and passing it of as "a great deal" at 50% less than the original.

0868-LakeCrescent.JPG

In truth, the copying part wouldn't bother me that much if the quality was actually there.

For example, I don't mind using generic versions of prescription drugs and I don't mind using generic or off-brand versions of a number of grocery store products. After all how many ways are there to screw those up?

Wait... don't answer that!

The thing that disturbs me is when I have to pay what I would consider a somewhat discounted price in order to get a severely off quality product. I don't want a piece of cheap crap that breaks next week!

And yet? It feels like we live in a world that is increasingly willing to just accept the cheap crap that breaks, and just keep buying a new one over and over and over again.

0675-WinterSnows.JPG

Aside from the fact that buying a cheap copy over and over and over again ultimately results in our landfills gradually filling with meaningless garbage, why are we rewarding those who are not making anything of significant quality, by buying their products?

I suppose I could philosophize at length on the idea that we have been trained to accumulate the greatest possible amount of stuff... and in order to be able to afford all that stuff we have to give up quality in order to have the quantity.

But that's primarily the cynic in me speaking.

Perhaps I am more bothered by the fact that it seems like it is getting harder and harder to ascertain where something is actually from. Which feels to me like they want to hide where it's from because there might be a bias against it if people could easily figure it out.

0602-Waterside.jpg

Evidently I'm not alone in this viewpoint. Some weeks ago I ran across an add-on to your web browser that will determine the country of origin of anything you look at on a commerce site online. That actually struck me as a good idea.

Even though I am broke most of the time, I guess I'm more comfortable buying something that doesn't come from a place where the mantra "if you can cheat, then cheat" is inherent within the culture. I'd rather pay a little extra and get something I know isn't going to fall apart the moment I start looking at it.

Maybe I'm just becoming a grumpy old man!

Thanks for stopping by, and have a great remainder of your week!

Comments, feedback and other interaction is invited and welcomed! Because — after all — SOCIAL content is about interacting, right? Leave a comment — share your experiences — be part of the conversation! I do my best to answer comments, even if it sometimes takes a few days!

HivePanda.gif


Greetings bloggers and social content creators! This article was created via PeakD, a blogging application that's part of the Hive Social Content Experience. If you're a blogger, writer, poet, artist, vlogger, musician or other creative content wizard, come join us! Hive is a little "different" because it's not run by a "company;" it operates via the consensus of its users and your content can't be banned, censored, taken down or demonetized. And that COUNTS for something, in these uncertain times! So if you're ready for the next generation of social content where YOU retain ownership and control, come by and learn about Hive and make an account!

Proud member of the Silver Bloggers Community on Hive! Silverbloggers Logo

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly and uniquely for this platform — NOT posted anywhere else!)
Created at 2024-01-11 01:14 PST

1043/2298

Sort:  

I'm with you, the older I get the more I realise, it's worth spending a little more on a 'good quality' item then grabbing the cheapest item. We're too used to the disposable culture in the west now, things don't work? Throw them away and buy a new one!

Which actually ends up costing more than a repair would... except nobody's in the repair business anymore.

Yeah, well that's the other problem, finding someone who knows how to repair things! Tradespeople are going to be in higher demand than even in the next few years! Reminds me of the Southpark episode or was it the movie? Where the tradesmen take over!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Grumpy old man or not, the photos tucked between the paragraphs are beautiful.

Thank you!