Success: It's NOT About "Wishing Failure on Others!"

in Silver Bloggerslast year

Of course, as I wrote the title of this post, I realized that it's important to start this out with the "disclaimer" that this is just my opinion, and I really don't expect everyone to agree with me.

0937-DesertRocks.jpg

Election Season is Upon Us...

I "got here" due to the realization that world just feels like a more and more mercenary sort of place, where people seem more and more willing to get ahead... at the expense of others, rather than by their own excellence. Or, maybe not exactly at their expense, but by focusing on the competition's shortcomings, rather than highlighting their own strengths and standing behind that.

Yeah, I realize that my observations here are perhaps somewhat colored by the fact that it is "elections season" here in the US of A. And there are perhaps few aspects of life in which the practice of pointing out other people's faults takes center stage in the proceedings.

Maybe I'm just revealing myself as an old fossil, but I guess one of the "values" I was raised with centered on the idea of your "value" and your sense of self was your own, should be based in your own excellence, not in someone else's lack of excellence.

0919-Path.jpg

Those who were more experienced, more skilled and somehow better off were to be admired and serve as inspiration, not be seen as someone who need to be "torn down" unless of course, they had arrived that that success through dishonest means.

"So what do you stand for?"

Well, my opponent had an affair with a co-worker, and is generally an idiot!

That's not a political platform, that's just an accusation that tells me absolutely nothing about you (except maybe that you have dubious moral fiber) and now you're at risk of losing my vote on account of lacking character...

But evidently, that's not how the majority of the world operates. In fact, it seems like very little of the world is oriented towards doing good, choosing instead to focus entirely on condemning bad.

0980-Magnolia.jpg

Whereas I can definitely recognize that these are simply two different approaches to navigating life, one is oriented towards building UP, while the other is oriented towards tearing DOWN.

It often saddens me just how much the world is oriented towards fear; typically expressed as a far greater concern about what some (real or perceived) "enemy" is doing, rather than about what we are doing. Perhaps if we focused on developing our own strengths, people would see something really worthwhile, and gradually lose interest in that enemy?

Then again, it would also be necessary for people to wake up to the reality that not everybody WANTS what you want!

"But OUR way is the best!"

The most I can say to that is, "indeed, your way is the best... for YOU."

1027-Boat.jpg

It's a bit like "free speech." You should absolutely have freedom of speech, but that doesn't include freedom from the consequences of that speech.

Meh... I guess I'd better stop this mini-rant before it gets any worse!

Thanks for stopping by, and enjoy the remainder of your week!

Comments, feedback and other interaction is invited and welcomed! Because — after all — SOCIAL content is about interacting, right? Leave a comment — share your experiences — be part of the conversation!

HivePanda.gif


Greetings bloggers and social content creators! This article was created via PeakD, a blogging application that's part of the Hive Social Content Experience. If you're a blogger, writer, poet, artist, vlogger, musician or other creative content wizard, come join us! Hive is a little "different" because it's not run by a "company;" it operates via the consensus of its users and your content can't be banned, censored, taken down or demonetized. And that COUNTS for something, in these uncertain times! So if you're ready for the next generation of social content where YOU retain ownership and control, come by and learn about Hive and make an account!

Proud member of the Silver Bloggers Community on Hive! Silverbloggers Logo

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly and uniquely for this platform — NOT cross posted anywhere else!)
Created at 20221103 19:05 PDT

0681/1927

Sort:  

On the bright side, those types don't get far in this space, and the error of their ways is etched in stone (locked into an immutable database forever).

Something I've noticed over the years...

Fact.

The pot stirrers have a way of doing their thing, creating shitstorm... and then sinking back into the murk that bred them.

Good to see you're still around!

I've been studying that behavior in this environment for almost six years, applying more thought and energy into it these past two years. I find it fascinating. Might be a strange hobby to some. In the future I'll have a lot to say about it.

And I'm always around, even when I'm not here. I too am trapped inside of a blockchain lol!

Good seeing you.

I agree with you. I often think if people invest in building up only half of the power they invest in bringing down, this whole world would become a paradise.

With the intention of bringing others down, we only lose our peace of mind

It seems to run through people's minds very early in their thought process; they start looking at "what others are doing" even before working on "how can I bee the best possible at this."

Yes, I think it would be a better world. Less strife, to be sure!

Perhaps, it is a social phenomenon. Initially, we take the guide for apt and acceptable behavior from our surroundings. Later we go for comparison in an unhealthy manner

This contrast between civilized win-win scenarios we find in everyday life and the political bandwagon nonsense inspired this post nearly a month ago. Partisan politics was designed for divide-and-conquer, or just divisiveness for the sake of divisiveness, not progress and success.