You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hunting the House and other Stories

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

Hi, Dan! I upvoted and meant to come back and didn't! This is the Shore House and yes, there are many old houses over there, it is like stepping back in time.

There are some records of events, some people have written accounts of the Civil War when it went through the area when the train tracks were laid and even some of the peoples' names and who they were related to.

There is a genealogy chapter there in the next town, for the area. People have kept some records, some are guessing, and most are facts.

The cemetery is on my property, but I have a small area fenced in and the opposite side was kind of messy I leave the fence up until the graves are professionally reset. This all takes time and the Historical Society etc.

I do love this house! It definitely has sounds in the night, but, old houses do. :) I haven't seen a ghost yet, I have to assume those footsteps are the cat! :)

Hi, Dan! @bluemoon

Sort:  

It's a place full of history for sure! I'm glad this is your home because you know how to appreciate it in every way. From comfort, history, and architecture. The cemetery is on your property! I suspected but I wasn't sure. Don't the people buried there have descendants to tend the graves?
It's a great initiative that you want to rehabilitate this small cemetery, it will bring value to the property but can also be a place to visit.

Unexpectedly, I hear a lot of noises at night also... but still no ghosts.
Have a great weekend, Denise!