You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Embracing Silver, Gracefully

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

I love your thoughts on turning 50! I think that you sound so mature for your age. LOL Kidding. You have such a healthy attitude about age and aging. Many people get so depressed about aging, and although I am not going to throw a huge party, to see people age gracefully is heartwarming in many ways. Savor the moments, my mother said. Enjoy each year as they come, because they are behind you in the blink of an eye.

There are so many things I wanted to do with my own dad, although I squeezed in as many as I could. I was the middle of nine children and he was thirteen years older than my mom. So he was an older dad, but, in many ways, that was to our benefit. Grieving is such a personal thing, we each have our own way. For me, it came in waves and then disappeared as quickly as it would come. I found myself crying for no reason. It took me time and you know what? I still miss him. I don't think I will ever stop, but, I certainly handle it better now.

I digress.

Wonderful post! Thank you, you 'ole silver fox! Ha!

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

I can be very immature for my age sometimes! Lol. Your Mom was right, the years go way too quickly. I can't believe how many years I spend embroiled in the doldrums of the corporate routine. Wake up, work, go home, repeat. I know that most things happen for a reason but if I had it to do it over again those twenty-three years I spent in a cubicle is one thing I would do differently.

Money was always kind of tight for us so we were limited to one, maybe two trips to see my family a year. We made the most of those trips though. We made a lot of good memories. I had a trip all planned out to take my parents on a Vikings river cruise from Budapest to Amsterdam, but we never got to do it because of Covid. My grieving is unfolding in a similar way as it did with you. Waves come and go and they can hit out of nowhere, mainly when I have time alone with my thoughts. Thank you for stopping by and for the comment!

 3 years ago  

You are always a pleasure!