Sort:  

I have tasted many fishes in warm countries and yes cold water fish is the best. The tastiest by far, and now I will be buying some cod for tomorrow!

 2 years ago  

Me too, but, I have to be honest. I cannot figure out why. Oh, cod!!! Now I want fish 'n chips.

I cannot find decent "chips" and french fries just don't taste right. Do you know how to make "real" ones, Ed? @tengolotodo

hehe as much as you do have some great food over there, chips are not one of them Denise.
The best chips are deep fried in oil, we do have some quite good ones for the oven, but chippy chips from a fish and chip shop are the best.
Every so often, I will get King Edward potatoes and cut them up to have thick chips and deep fry them, but you can't beat fish and chips from a good fish and chip shop!

 2 years ago  

There is only one in Old Town Alexandria. A British Establishment that does them pretty close (and one place in St. Augustine, Florida) another British pub... but, they are probably the best here. Making them at home has never seemed like a good option, even in the UK, people prefer them at the pub.

I use russets to cut them up thick and deep fry them, but, I dislike frying food. :)

I know! It is the most flavorful as they say!

Thanks for getting back to me. I miss those chips!

Yes it has been a long time since I got rid of my deep fat fryer. I have an air fryer and do our oven chips in there. They are okay but not like from a fish and chip shop. The pub ones are okay, but still not like a fish and chip shop.
And here we are talking about food again and I need to make lunch!

Oh yes I remember russets, they are good potatoes, one thing about living in Florida I remember the trouble getting good potatoes!