KIDS ,SOUP AND PRETENDING...HAPPY HALLOWEEN~~~#BoW #SILVERBLOGGER

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

Halloween happens to be my favorite holiday, right next to Thanksgiving. Christmas was always fun when my children believed in Santa. I still enjoy it, but it's different now since all my kids have kids of their own. As a grammy, I can now look back at all the fun stuff we did to plan our costumes, make fun treats and plan the party that always brought all the cousins and grandparents to my home.

Each year when my own children were young enough to enjoy Halloween, I hosted a soup party. All of my brothers and sisters would dress up their children in some really crazy costumes and crash my house right after school was let out. The soups were in crockpots staying warm and everyone that came brought an addition to complement my famous soups. We always had such an exceptional table of grab and go foods.

We lived in the perfect neighborhood for trick or treating, just two square blocks, with just one way in, same way out. It was a safe place to let our children run wild to collect treats from people we knew. Heck, half the neighbors would drop in to try my soup and say hello to my family. It was truly sweet.

This was the one day every year that I would go to the party store to collect make-up kits, props and costumes for my kids to dress up and pretend to be something else. The funny thing that I have to mention, the adults were required to dress up also. Oh yeah, I heard the moans, but I would just laugh, and tell them "no costume, no soup". Everyone came dressed up.

Myself included.

Etsy Item Listing Photo (21).png

It was a trip!

I wasn't a slouch when it came to outfitting my kids with what they wanted to dress up as. I told them to use their imaginations and I would provide the needed resources.

Here's a few examples: My Ryan as a teen werewolf. I glued hair onto his face, then blended make-up into his hair to create a perfect wolf. Although it took lots of scrubbing to get it off. 🙄

IMG_4003.JPG
Then there was this: My five year old Derrick as the joker. He's still our joker. With his two cousins as ghostbusters.

IMG_4005.JPG

Then my sweet little girl as a princess same as her cousin.

IMG_4016.JPG

Oh my goodness, such wonderful memories. Just a few weeks ago she was truly a beautiful princess. With her prince.

IMG_2320 (2).JPG

Yup, Halloween was always a time of sharing and caring, these sweet memories are priceless. I know all you #silverbloggers can relate to such things and I am so happy to share this with all of you. I will be searching this community for the the joy you will share with me. I am sure it will make me smile.

Here's just a few other pictures I came a cross when searching for "HALLOWEEN MEMORIES" for this week's theme for "Blog of the week.

The hubby.

IMG_4008.JPG

Grand daughters.

IMG_2034.JPG

My brother.

IMG_4007.JPG

The walking wounded and Indian chief.

IMG_4011.JPG

A handmade gift from my mom.

IMG_4013.JPG

A special gift from my #hive friends @dandays and @puravidaville.

So cool, cherished.

IMG_4015.JPG

Halloween is a fun holiday that we Americans enjoy to the max. It brings families together just to laugh at each other's foolishness. Hey, why not!

Soups on.

Sort:  

My son was very into being people for Halloween: Paul Revere, Harry Potter, his father in his Navy dress uniform, a farmer, etc.

 2 years ago  

That is awesome, Navy dress uniform, how proud your son must have felt. I'll bet your David was soooo handsome, nothing like a gentleman in a uniform.

About the last time he was cleancut. :)) He started growing his hair the instant he got out.

 2 years ago  

Sweet, us hippies gotta stick together!!

Thanks for sharing your photos!
I like your pictures!
Very nice, @farm-mom.

You guys are the most fun family ever. I may have liked Halloween if I were part of a household like that. The pink wig is stunning!

These are lovely memories. I love the pic of your son as a teen werewolf. What a cool idea to glue hair onto his face, lol But I guess it was hard to remove it, hehe

 2 years ago  

Hello, yeah I pulled off some of his skin with that one, I should have just given him his first shave at 11 years old 😀😅😂🤣

What awesome memories, you really know how to do Halloween @farm-mom 🎃 You are blessed with having wonderful friends & family 💞
That pink hair really suited you, talk about letting your hair down 🥳

People of all ages can have so much fun on Halloween. Wonderful family photos, @farm-mom.

 3 years ago  

You know your daughter's so gorgeous I had to censor two curse words already?

I mean really. I saw you mention me and thought for sure I'd steal the show. Well then there's the gift we made you guys and as happy as it makes my heart to see it's on display at the farm I thought certainly the painting will steal the show.

Congratulations to the married couple. She wins the award for show stopper.

You have a beautiful family Farm-Mom. 💖 But there's only room for one Princess and that's Me!

 3 years ago  

Hello, how ya doing. The best compliments for a mother is to compliment their children. I must agree, Erica is a knockout. But her best feature is her enthusiastic personality, and of course, her big heart.

I am glad you didn't crash the wedding, the last thing I needed was another princess 👸

IMG_3141 (1).JPG

 3 years ago  

Hey @farm-mom, please remember to share your link in the Blog of the week on our Discord Channel

The good old days, now we have the good very old days. Next year I think I'll dress up as a senior citizen. 😁

 2 years ago  

Please don't forget the suspenders , I love those.

It's taken me a while to get here: I wanted to have the time to do more than scan. I am so glad I did. I'm sitting and typing with the biggest smile on my face! Thank you for those memories...

 2 years ago  

I'm in the same boat, I can't seem to keep up with my #hive friends lately. But you know my heart is in the right place. Thanks for stopping in.
Have blessed and beautiful day.

I do indeed! And best to you, too!

Oh they always say "happy wife happy life", here I think it is a case of "happy family loaded with fun times", we have never celebrated Halloween but have done the fancy dress!

Your children look like they had loads of fun over the years, now the grandchildren join in learning the ropes.

Enjoy the soup.... then some !WINE 😄


Hi @joanstewart, This Post Is Older Than 3 Days Days.
Please Try Another Post.
(We Will Not Send This Error Message In Next 24 Hrs).

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.330