In anticipation of summer in colour

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

Beetroot always make me think of summer. Even though they're available (and we can grow them) most of the year round.

Last night - for the first time in ages - The Husband braaied chicken so I indulged with two salads. The taste of summer - I cannot wait!

The combination of beetroot and tzatziki is one of my current favourites. It'll be even nicer with a ring of cucumber (we'd run out and today's shopping day) and a sprinkling of fresh dill.

IMG_20220914_062146_251.jpg

I don't like how beetroot makes everything pink, so my salads - unless they're all beetroot - are somewhat deconstructed. Either way, once it's on my plate, I have no choice.

What a welcome treat: braaied chicken and salad. The weather man tells us we're having a two-day early summer before being plunged back into the depths of winter and possible rain for the market. I do hope not!

IMG_20220914_062146_202.jpg

Oh, and I love the red of the beetroot contrasting with the blue of Paul's bowl and then the white of the tzatziki.

I do eat with my eyes!

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script

If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.


Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.
Sort:  

Beautiful meal! Looks so yummy.

Aww. Your husband prepared a good meal for you!

Actually, it's a joint effort: I do the salads and potatoes. We do this regularly, so that bit is nothing special, hahaha!

 2 years ago (edited) 

@fionasfavourites My mom loves beet salad with potato, carrot and egg, dressed with mayonnaise. It's her favorite salad.

That sounds like a delicious combination!

Go Beetroot 🥳 You can make so much with Beetroot and the pink color is beutiful. We use #Beetroot for our #coldbeetrootsoup and mixing in some other ingredients you get a sexy pink color. Mabe try making Beetroot pancakes 🤩 We would love to try those 😍