Sort:  
 2 years ago  

They are gorgeous indeed, my favourite was the yellow Lehenga Choli the young woman wore; it was quite a treat seeing the different outfits. They asked me to take photos on two of the occasions, they were running late on the last day when the family said goodbye to the girl, she usually leaves the family home the day after the wedding. I was quite surprised when I first heard of this tradition, which varies within the different Hindu sects. Not like us who ride off into the sunset after the wedding 😉

They look as though they're family heirlooms. My friends, Selma and Andre often photograph Muslim and Indian weddings: always sooo beautiful. You should have a browsw through their blog just for those photos.

 2 years ago  

I will definitely have a look, the outfits are really stunning. When we went to the last Indian pre-wedding celebration, a local lady who sat at our table told me she had the perfect outfit for me to wear to the wedding. She insisted I pick it up or she would drop it off at our house, so I ended up wearing a Punjabi that was a perfect fit and easier to wear than a Sari, which I wouldn't know how to wrap in any case😉