A Wirey Mess Becomes A Flower - Day 31 - The 100 Day Project

in Silver Bloggers2 months ago (edited)

Another rummaging expedition on Day 31 of The 100 Day Project and I'm going round for a second time.

I returned to my wire and bead drawer and removed a tangle of telephone engineers wire. Hmmmm. What can I do with this? Well, before we get to that let's talk a bit about the wire.

1000009893.jpg

I picked up the abandoned tangle of wire from beside a telephone junction box on my street. Presumably left behind by a an untidy engineer. It was a good time ago and it's been left, dumped in the drawer ever since.

Each of the colour combinations serves a different function or purpose within the telephone engineering system, helping engineers to identify and work with different wires and their connections. The color codes are part of the UK standard for telecommunication wiring and are used to ensure they get the right wires in the right place when carrying out repairs, or installations.

There are loads of different colour combinations, Here's a brief explanation of just a few of them to give an idea of what they are about:

Green/Black: Used for the main phone line from the street.
Blue/White: Usually the secondary phone line.
Orange/White: Used for the third line.
Brown/White: Fourth line.
White/Green: Used for the ring wire.
A-Wire: White with blue rings
B-Wire: Blue with white rings
C-Wire: White with orange rings
D-Wire: Orange with white rings

Before I set about using the wires to create something for the cluster book I decided to have a quick tidy up of the drawer from this:

1000009918.jpg

to this:

1000009919.jpg

This tidying up is becoming a bit of a habit and I like it. 💪

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I didn't actually have a plan of what to do with the wire so I just started playing around with it. I ended up creating a red circle and then added another coloured wire around the perimeter of that and then another one.

It reminded me of a flower for some reason so I grabbed 3 more strands of wire and platted them to make a stem. Then I reapeated the whole process a couple more times, ending up with 3 "flowers".

Next I tore some strips from old book pages and stuck the wire to them. Of the 2 pages I had left to fill in the cluster book I chose the map paper to stick them to. This was because the map is quite complex whilst the design is pretty straight forward.

And here's the end result.

1000009929.jpg

So, with that done, I now have one more set of clusters to create, plus a cover and some instructions. I also need to assemble the book and finish the card. All in 3 days. 😱

The race is on.


~ ~ ~ ~ ~

You can now read all of this Project's posts in one place by visiting the
The 100 Day Project - 2024 - Collection.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~
💚 Thanks to all those cheering me on. Your support is very much appreciated. 💚
@jacey.boldart @denmarkguy @alchemystones @steevc @shanibeer @stickupboys @nickydee @lizelle

Sort:  

Are you sure those are flowers and not lollipops? ha ha

That was very imaginative!

I'm sure lots of people would agree with you. 😁

I love the way you seem to be able to turn virtually everything into art supplies!

Art is definitely in the eye of the beholder... I see a child's colorful balloon, more than I see a flower.

Yeah. I love that too. I never know what I'm going to create and I get so much joy from that. THe more daft it is the more fun I have.

Interesting you see balloons. @jacey.boldart saw lollipops. 😂

image.png
I get the balloons though, because the braided different colored wire going down, does have a little bit of a curling ribbon effect.

Hi @gillianpearce,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏