You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Facing Disappointment in my Youth.

That must have been heart rending. One does wonder what you would have become had you signed at graduation, what your life would have looked like.

But it looks like you made the very best of what you were given, because look what you have now!

Sort:  

It was hard to deal with for a while, but what came from that event was a blessing.
What I have now is like living a dream come true. A guy couldn't ask for much more, except maybe a few less weeds in the garden.

I figured that with your expertise in gardening, you would be the one to present this question to.

This year our apple trees had more flowers on them than ever before. Hundreds of the flowers set fruit. We were all excited to get the very first apples from the trees we planted 5 or 6 years ago. But over the past few months, all of the fruit developed what looks like canker sores. I know the damage was not from insects as I check the trees daily. I've got a feeling it may be the result of a nutrient deficiency.

Do you have any advice?

Thanks!
IMG_1236.JPG

I actually know very little about fruit trees. I planted the McIntosh and crab apple about 25+ years ago, and outside of sporadically getting the Mac pruned, haven't done anything for them. They were properly pruned this year, and I also have a ZILLION apples, only the 2nd time since the tree was planted has this happened.

I have not idea why it's producing so well this year, and many of the apples will have spots and scars and worms and things. I haven't a clue what the various things are nor the brain to figure out how to prevent it. I avoid spraying at all costs.

I would suggest going to Fedco's Tree section and looking into their various things to feed the trees. Healthy well fed trees will resist pests more easily. You may also find something to do about whatever your critter is that's after the apples.

Thank you for getting back to me.
We tried growing a few apple trees years ago and had no luck with them, but the wild apple trees in this area are all over the place and chock full of apples every year. They are somewhat bitter but are great for juicing and apple pies.
I'll look into it further, starting where you suggested, Fedco's trees.

If I get an answer, I'll get back to you.