Some Silver Bloggers Updates...

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago (edited)
Authored by @mondoshawan

Hello and good day silvery community

There are several bits of news I would like to share with you. Small cosmetic changes, as well as the way we Silver Bloggers communicate with each other.

sb_update_1200.png

But let me introduce myself first. I'm know around here as Dan "Dude" Mondoshawan. Fifty-five year old rock'n'rolla, "landed" on that "other" blockchain in January 2018, in search of a "decentralized" future of the internet. Without any clue about crypto or blogging. Criss and cross, up and down. "All the mistakes" you can make, I made and lived through them. In the end, I was just interested in storing my thoughts and experiences in the digital world, far away from Goolag, Fakebook or the like.

In real life I left everything behind of the so civilized society, no more money in my pockets, looking for a new start, outside the imposed social obligations. An exit, which I wanted to share with all folks, wanting to do the same. Hmmm, but as life goes... everything turns out differently than you think. Murphy's Law! Thinking about it, I'm not even sure I'd be here if I'd known from the beginning what I was in for. smirk

In a nutshell, I'm a nature-loving bon vivant, musician, radio jockey, handyman, chef, life partner, and so much more. Back in those early blockchain days, I "learned" to separate the wheat from the chaff as a curator for C² and how to contribute to a healthy crypto ecosystem. After the big "split" I didn't know "what next" for a while.... Streaming music on vimm.tv and chatting in the terminal on Discord was all that kept me here. Until Lizzie and Fiona invited me to join the Silverbloggers community as a moderator. Which, with some honor, I gladly accepted.

Today, I'm just doing my best for one and all. Still no too big of an idea about crypto, still no money in my pockets. Only the points how to continue have concretized... and the exit towards autonomous "off grid" is in the "works". But now enough about me, back to some important stuff.

image.png

The Silver Bloggers Community...

...currently has over 800 participants, of which more than 100 are actively participating. All this has led to the fact that the team has been strengthened (we all have RL commitments) and certain processes have been adjusted. You may have noticed that last year's weekly contest has become a monthly one.

The guidelines have been minimally revised to try and eliminate misunderstanding. The Discord server has also been adapted for this. Rest assured, though that we will still continue to learn as we go forward and more changes may be possible. Okay, let's look into some details....

image.png

#BoM - reminder

This, new, monthly contest has certain "rules" that have some of us a bit confused. So here is the "how2", to not miss anything and please beware you MUST follow ALL the points so your validate your blog entry for the next contest....

  1. Post your blog directly to our community @hive-106316...
  2. Write in English... Other languages are okay as long as an English translation is included.
  3. Use at least 350 words. If it's a picture/photography or an essay/collage, the photos are yours and you preferably include some sort of backstory to them.
  4. Each participant is subscribed to our community.
  5. the first #tag is #BOM
  6. You share the link to your blog in the comments of the actual contest announcement.
  7. You share the link also in the Discord channel set up for this purpose.
  8. Please consider following the #BoM tag so you can easily find other posts and engage in them.

image.png

Discord Unity

Yes, not just to spare precious RC used up in comments and engagement, Discord is the space where we can all share stories with each other. It's also place to share our new blogs, ask and answer questions about crypto, Hive and Discord.

Because the community founders have a good connection to OCD, using Discord became kind of a "must" for all of us. Reading and "evaluating" so many blogs takes some time as well as conversations to find the pearls that we then present at OCD. This is where this communication platform helps us to be effective, which is not really possible with Hive at the moment.

To join our community server, first subscribe to our Hive community, then simply click on this link >>(https://discord.gg/kPUgeahwA3) and immediately start meeting other Silver Bloggers in person.

And BTW, there is now a place you can promote any of your blogs. Check out the channel on Discord: you got all the infos there.

image.png

Some Silvery Specials

Starting with the latest entries to #BoM. If you missed the Winner's Post from January, come on over and see what's what. I personally would like to take this moment and add another two special mentions from this latest Blog Of the Month.

There is @soyunasantacruz

...who wants to feel healthy, full of energy and that when she wakes up, the body feels like moving with vigor.

SoyUnaSantacruz.jpg

Then we have @zolajade

...another new Silverblogger who's looking forward to travel, run a marathon and heal herself and others.

ZolaJade.jpg

Please welcome them and since the blogs are already passed seven days you may show your appreciation with a generous tip of yours.

And here one of my favourite silver blogs from @dandays

...this "out-of-thin-air"-blog is an awesome example of what our community is all about. I just love it. Big Shout Out here!

dANDays.jpg

Thank you everyone, for all the awesomeness going on in our community. Keep dropping your silvery posts onto hive. We definitely like it!

silver_divider_black.png

Would you like to sponsor a prize?


If you would like to sponsor a prize, please comment on this post and tag either @lizelle or @fionasfavourites.

Theme suggestions


If you have topic suggestions, please leave them in the comments?


untitled.gif

Themes can be anything you like within the Silver Threads preferred for this community. Content creators will, of course, make of them what they will.

Last words...


We would love to get more eyes on this post and all community posts from - @hive-106316 - our Silver Bloggers account. This is why we make a point of reblogging your posts. Please do the same?!

silver_divider_black.png

Come and join our Silver Bloggers communitySilver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg

A big THANK YOU in advance

Delegation
Delegation
Delegation
10
20
40
50
100
150
200
500
1,000

Sort:  

Guilty of not being around often, great to see the growth and new hands on deck assisting, Silver Blogger are truly amazing trying to cope with everyday life, plus the adventure of new!

 2 years ago (edited) 

"Friends are like Stars, they're always here, even when you can't see them!"

Each is special, unique offering a little extra value over time.

 2 years ago  

@mondoshawan Thank you. I wasn't sure I could go off-script in Silver community so I asked around and got the green light. Thanks for having me. I've enjoyed myself on the discord server too.

Did you know you typed MUST six times in BIG CAPITAL LETTERS? I wasn't sure what to think of that cuz everyone knows six is one shy of seven but then you "quoted must" once time so that counts.

Nice save!

 2 years ago (edited) 

Hahaha, yeah... and for the why: Not always easy to make everyone right away understand some basic guidelines. Like the "Stopp" signs all over the streets, how can one not understand that at a crossroad we may better stop to see what's coming from the sides... 😁

Welcome Mr. Dan, your presentation reminded me of my story not knowing anything about cryptography and being lost in the ocean is the common factor in all, the new design indicates that we are making changes and changes are good.

Thanks for the mention and the good news @mondoshawan

It's with pleasure! Thank YOU for being part of all this...

Thanks for the shoutout!

thanks for the updates and for introducing yourself! Honestly, before I joined the BOM challenge I was so hesitant to post here. guess to shy to be new in a community. But after my first post, I feel so welcomed and I thank you all for that :)

It's a pleasure to have met you. You did choose the right pill... 😄

yep.. i think so and i'm glad :)

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @queenstarr.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @hive-106316! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 5000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power delegations to the last Power Up Month challenge Winners
Feedback from the February 1st Hive Power Up Day
Be ready for the next Hive Power Up Month!
 2 years ago  

Noted these awesome changes and many thanks for all that you and our other MODs do to keep the community shine even more :)

Welcome new users and I'm sure you'll feel at home, that's how I feel. It is always good to remember the rules and regulations and much more important is to follow them.

 2 years ago (edited) 

It is an awesome community that I have been made to feel so welcome in😁

 2 years ago  

Guilty of being overwhelmed with life for a while. So happy to see the growth here! Always quality from the best!

 2 years ago  

Great post @mondoshawan

↑Upvoted↑and←Reblogged→

Thank you for doing that BroSir! Pleasure you liked it!

Hello,
I have just recently started posting again on Hive after spending the last few years concentrating solely on the Scorum blogging platform, which is another graphene based blockchain project. I had heard that the communities on Hive were now live but this is my first chance to really stop and take a look. When I saw the name of this community I thought it might be an interesting group for me since I'm almost 65 and mostly silver/white now.

Before Hive I was on Steem and I helped set up the Freewrite House over there in anticipation of these communities being launched. I like to write when I feel up to it and I get a moment of inspiration so maybe if it is okay I may try your monthly contest sometime.

I came back to Hive because Hive and Scorum have now entered into a partnership and it should be easier now to use both platforms. I have a one track mind and it has always been hard for me to multitask like other people do, so I'm more of a one social media site at a time type.

It is going to take me a while to get re-familiarized with Hive and learn how to navigate all the functions and learn all of the new terminology because a lot has changed since the last time I was here, so please have patience with me if I fail to understand what you are talking about sometimes. Of course it could also be attributed to my mental state since I operate in a form of brain fog a lot of the time these days.

I hope everyone here will stop by and introduce themselves to me a little along, if you try to look me up on Scorum I'm "pete" over there and when I write now I post on the Scorum World site instead of the sports blog site. If you have any questions about me feel free to ask, if it is none of your business I'm just grumpy enough to let you know. :)

Gosh! A lot here to answer. And ask. I am one of the admins in Silver Bloggers and I will pop by tomorrow. I am in the throes of doing dinner.

Before I go: I completely get your being peripatetic and spreading yourself too thin. I suffer from similar maladies. Either way, you are welcome in our community. Hope you will join us.

I remember you from the early days of Freewrite House! Good to see you are alive and well. I have only recently noticed the Silver Bloggers community, and read this post to try to understand how it works. If I figure it out, I'll post something.

I can't believe that you still remember me after all this time away! I will still be spending more time on Scorum than Hive because I have a lot invested over there and we are getting really close to some major updates, but I hope to be able to go back and forth and my goal is to become just as invested in Hive eventually as I am in Scorum. It looks like you and I will be learning about the Silver Blogging community at the same time so if I get into any trouble I expect you to bail me out. 😉

Ha ha! It could end up being the other way around, you know.

I've got your back Sister! 🙂

Hello Lee and welcome to the real world! 😁

Thanks! 😊

 2 years ago  

@mondoshawan Great to see this community. I dabbled in digital social presence on the earstwhile social media platform for a while but never felt totally at home. After a long hiatus of 3-4 years (a long story why - perhaps I will write about it one day) I am back on HIVE but had not discovered this community. I am thrilled to see you all have mastered many skills and express so many interesting things so well. I hope I can be a contributing member of the family.

singature small avatar.png