My Fondest Memories - Blog of the Week #SilverBloggers

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago (edited)

Kia Ora everyone in this awesome Silver Bloggers community! It's Saturday here on my side of the world and maybe, it is still Friday to some. I do hope you are all doing amazing and happy to welcome the weekend.

Memories are one of those that make life even more fun and beautiful especially when we look back and reminisce those that make us laugh, smile, or even shed a tear or many out of happiness :)

Weed flower I have captured in our weekend drive recently. Not related to this article but it will give some bright colors to it :)


In my four decades in this wonderful universe, I have had experienced many that made my life more colorful and worthwhile. Some are more memorable than others but all of them have become part and parcel of my being. In this article, I am going to share some beautiful and happiest experiences I have had.

One of the happiest moments in my 20s was when I was given the chance to fly and work overseas. I was 23 then, quite young and unaware of what's waiting for me miles away from home when I accepted a job offer while on a vacation tour on an island somewhere in the pacific. I was hired by a multi-national company and I was to stay and work in their head office which was at that time, located in the bustling metro city of Guangzhou. Little did I know that facing my fears of the unknown will open many opportunities for me and had me traveling to other countries as well.

This (below) is a view of the company's office building where I worked for the most part of my 9-5 career. Initially, I served as a Personal Assistant to one of the directors and was promoted to manage the marketing department where I learned a lot of what I am still able to use these days.

Here, I made friends with many good-hearted people, some even invited me to their weddings (apologies, I have no copies of the photos right now, they're at our other house in the mountain), spent time with their families on some holidays and experienced the Chinese way of life which I also learned to appreciate.

During my years of stay and living in the magnificent City of Guangzhou, I learned to love veggies (which I didn't really like prior to going there). And this memory often comes back to me every time vegetables are served at our table these days, which of course I am very thankful for.

None is permanent in this world, nor is my stay in that beautiful country. I bade farewell from the company after working with them for years (I was to get married). Even so, the company still made sure to maintain our connection by making me their offshore consultant for another 3 years.


The above photo is of a beautiful lake in Tianhe Park-Guangzhou, where my husband and I spent some fun times during my second work stint in the city.


The same company offered me a position couple of years ago which I accepted given the fact that they allowed me to bring my husband. However, the stint was cut short to only 15 months when the husband and I decided to say goodbye because the work scheme was a little tough for me. I was required to travel a lot (about 3 or more times a week) and as much as I love traveling, it was quite exhausting for me.



I consider my years of stay and cooperation with the company as memorable because it is where I have learned many things, traveled to other countries and places, encountered many friendly people, cried, and laughed a lot too. It is also where I was molded into an independent woman. Of course, not to forget the good pay and benefits I was able to enjoy.

Prior to the pandemic (December 2019), the husband and I received an invite from the company to visit China again. And because we didn't want to be there during the winter season (it's really cold), we planned to book our ticket for April or May but then the covid-19 lockdowns started in March 2020. We hope that one day, things will be a lot better and we could travel again.

This so far is just one of the many fond memories I have in my heart and I thank the Silver Bloggers community for making this opportunity to share some of the times when I feel the most blessed.

Thank you and until then, I wish you all a glorious weekend!

All original content

Sort:  

This is really cool, I remember you saying before how you were working in China CJ! Yes, can't wait until we get back to a semblance of normality travel-wise.

 3 years ago  

Thank you and yes Tito Ed. Hoping for that time, but if normality won't come, we just have to brave it, yeah? hehe

Hi sis! Nice memories. It must have been a nice experience to work abroad.
Let's hope for better times when we can travel again without restrictions. Cheers!

 3 years ago  

Thank you sis, it was! And yes, very hopeful for better days to roam around again. Cheers, my friend!

Lovely experiences you had @ifarmgirl

 3 years ago  

Yes it was one of the many good experiences I have had. Thank you so much :)

Congratulations @ifarmgirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!