The return of music to my life

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

Stoddart paino 3.jpg
Back in High School, this piano sat in the lunchroom, and I would play on it every day when I came to eat lunch.
Until they stopped me that is. It was beat to hell back then.
I scratched my name

Piano epigraph.jpg
And the date

Piano date.jpg
on the back of the soundboard.
Someone from the highschool newspaper took this photo of me playing it, otherwise this photo wouldn't exist

Fall of '73 thumbnail.jpg
My friends who had the piano back home decided they no longer wanted it, and put it up for sale on Facebook Marketplace, where I would NEVER have seen it, because I NEVER go there.
A friend from high school put me on to it, and everyone said:

Jerry, for this piano to come back into your life at this time, it is meant to be that you get this piano!

So yesterday, I paid WAY too much to buy it and have it delivered from Claxton to my Studio here in Mableton, but it is mine now

image.png
In an odd coincidence?, last Friday one of my long time most favorite music clients sent me a brief email:

Jerry, we need an Entertainer for this afternoon at 3 pm, if you can do it please call and ask for Gina

I replied that I hated to disappoint, but I had a Dr's appointment and there was no way I'd be able to get back in time (not to mention that I'm NOT practiced anything, I've had no REASON nor Motivation for it.
So yesterday, she reached out again and said it was alright, what about THIS FRIDAY?
I told her of my most recent performance where I was required to get a negative nose swab a week before, and provide WRITTEN PROOF, then wear a mask WHILE I performed, which was not good.
She replied:


Jerry we are open and you must have a mask in place before you sing but not during, we will have you perform socially distanced.
When you first come in a temperature check is required
That's it
So can a book you Friday at 3pm?
Gina

So I replied

Yes Ma'am!

Del Mar Gardens is a retirement community with apartment living on one side, and skilled care on the other.

image.png
↑This was my last performance there last Oct. No one came out to see me perform. It was very disheartening.

I am looking forward to it, but I am also filled with trepidation, due to the reasons I cited above, mainly lack of practice, but now I have the motivation!

"Music Returns"

by
Jerry E Smith
©06/22/2021
All images are mine



cyktlq.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Great to hear you'll be able to play for an audience again, enjoy the new/old piano!

 3 years ago  

Thank you my friend. It is awesome, but daunting as well. So much time has passed, passed without me practicing, barely touching my keyboards.
'Tis a scary thing @lizelle

Beautiful post! Synchronicity in play, pun intended, that this piano came back into your life and then you are asked to perform, twice and now you will be. The universe is tapping you on your shoulder to do this. A wonderful opportunity.

 3 years ago  

I agree @nineclaws, and I must put aside my trepidation over not having practiced in so long, bite the bullet and go do it.
I know from experience that whatever I do, they'll enjoy. No ¿Hubris? intended.
Thing is, after I got the go ahead for the gig, I've really not HAD time to practice.
Yesterday I worked checking out the piano, then I had a service call for an heat pump; my home warranty covered it. The window for service was 2-6 pm, so I had to be here in the house, the keyboards are all out back.
The guy didn't get here until after 7.
Now this morning, I've committed to cover as caregiver for my niece while she takes a well deserved few hours off.
I'll get free to start working this afternoon.
It will be GREAT! Thanks for reading and commenting

You're welcome! I think you're quite right that whatever you do will be enjoyed.

 3 years ago  

Don't get me wrong, I will still and always do my best to be the best entertainer I can be.
It is a "win win" situation; I enjoy playing, they enjoy hearing me play and the bonus is that I get paid!
Thanks again @nineclaws

I didn't get you wrong. I know you will do your best. It's obvious that you put your heart into what you do. You're very welcome!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @stayten on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

 3 years ago  

Thank you @innerblocks and @stayten. As always, I am grateful for your support


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program
 3 years ago  

Thank you @discovery-it and @silverblogger for your support. I am always grateful

!discovery 15