You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Embracing Silver, Gracefully

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

What a beautiful way of embracing silver Eric, the name you've chosen SilverScribe is very apt!
Life can be so beautiful and filled with so much joy, yet in a moment turn into sadness. I remember when you lost your Dad so tragically but I believe that he is smiling down on you, excuse the cliche, but I believe it's true.
Besides all the little aches and pains that pop up in our silver years, it's like one cannot get enough of life, and that's the essence of embracing silver!
I love how you put it and that's been my philosophy for a long time now:

I've realized that happiness, in large part, comes from accepting gracefully the things you cannot change.

Thank you for this beautiful response to this week's #bow, a very timely topic for you especially!

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

Thank you @Lizelle! The grieving process is so strange, there are long stretches of coming to terms with things and then a memory will hit you that makes you miss them all over again. Cycling is one thing that my Dad and I shared. We were riding 20+ miles together when I was just twelve years old or so. I think about him every time I get on this VanMoof ebike. He would have absolutely loved it. What you've touched on in your comment is my most favorite thing about getting older, you tend to appreciate things more and take less for granted.