You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vacation - Also known as pretend retirement

in Silver Bloggerslast month

How lovely that you were able to escape to Florida, but I am so sorry to hear about your brother-in-law's emergency, thankfully you were there to help!
Florida looks beautiful!

Following the unexpected loss of my husband, I realized how we need to make the best of each day, which we did, so there are no regrets there.
Although we were (I still am) running a small bnb from home,we often would jump into the car on the spur of the moment, pick up friends, or go on our own for a jaunt along the coast, or inland.

You are so right about retiring too early, as I've seen some acquaintances who do that but have to downscale way too early, as their investments shrink.
Nowadays, people live longer, so going into full retirement even at the normal retirement age, and not having enough in the kitty, means you will outlive a decent income.

For us, and now me, having a bnb is like having the best of both worlds. I have many returning guests who have become like family, and it's a good income, I can still maintain my two excellent staff members.

My only concern is when I go that they will not easily find a good job, but I've told both of them that they need to seriously look at starting their own little company/ies - cleaning and gardening services. They each work 2 days per week elsewhere, for younger friends, and one of them wants to help them with that, as they will be emigrating in a couple of years.
We'll see what the future holds!

Shall I say it again, Florida looks heavenly, and your photos are stunning, enjoy it!

Sort:  

I love your story, @lizelle. You faced the life altering adversity of becoming a widow and losing your life partner, and kept moving and continued living life and being an entrepreneur. It can't have been easy. And as you said, it had to be quite a wake-up call too. But I'm so glad you have no regrets and only wonderful memories of the time you had with your husband.

And thank you for the "counterpoint" view regarding early retirement. Several of my friends who have retired in their mid-sixties are guilting me about it, which is ridiculous. We all have to make these decisions for ourselves. But the things you said really underscored why I'm not comfortable with it yet. I'm happy to work a few more years and get to a point where my nest egg is really in great shape, and that is the right course for me. (And of course meanwhile I'm working on some residual income projects!) So I'm not going to listen to them anymore!

 last month (edited) 

You are so right @jayna, it's our life, so we have to do what works for us. Why retire simply because one has reached a certain age; some people are ready to retire in their 50s, others not.
I've also heard of way too many who die soon after retirement.

I worked for land surveyors for most of my life and because their job entails working outdoors, and doing much walking, many lived long lives and continued practicing way past the so-called 'retirement age'.
My last boss, before I joined our local council, still does calculations in his home office, at the age of 92, while his son and staff do the field work! Mr. H also was an avid golf player, which means a lot of walking.
He came to my hubby's memorial service and still is chirpy and full of life, truly a legend!
So, why stop doing something one enjoys, and still have the freedom to take breaks without seeing that kitty shrink?
But, we need to start walking, that's the big secret to a healthy life ;)
You do what is right for you!