Grandparent stories contest entry:@mbdonzella

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago
LETTERS ON THE TABLE

I begin this story of a piece of my life writing from a table that belonged to my great-grandfather, Juan José Donzella, that I always saw at my grandparents' house, this one has a great story behind it....

LA MESA.jpg
The table

I will write about my great-grandfather, my grandparents and about this table that takes us to old memories... because they left so much in me. Now from this same table I continue this new adventure of capturing in letters what is in my heart, and I realized that it is something of generations... How many of these letters would be written on this table? Letters of love, some of pain, others to make us reflect, to make us live in a place even without being there, some letters were written and teach us about our past, where we come from and others that made us laugh...

FACHADA CERVECERIA.jpg
the facade

JJ DONZELLA.jpg
the Donzella brewery

MESAS CERVECERIA.jpg
the table when I was at the Donzella brewery.

This table was part of the furniture of what was once the Donzella Brewery, founded by my great-grandfather in the city of Caracas, Venezuela in the 1920s, being one of the first breweries and meeting place of many characters, from politicians and people of good social position, to the common people. Later my great-grandfather left his two sons: John and Gustavo (who is my grandfather) in charge of this place, perhaps at this same table many strategies were discussed in order to end a dictatorship which was lived at that time in Venezuela, also a place where many writers would make their poems. This brewery closed in 1952 and this table went to my grandfather's house, where I met it. They left them to us as an inheritance and until today, writing this post, is that I realize that there are letters from my grandparents to my father, I have many letters from my father to me, I always liked to express myself through letters and I have letters that I wrote to my son... and today in the year 2021 (where everything is technology) my son likes to write letters in his own handwriting, on paper ... And many of them have been written at this very table.

CARTAS.jpg

My grandparents through their stories, their lives and the things they gave us as an inheritance taught us to love reading and to transmit our feelings through words written in letters, they taught us to treasure the good and to unite it with the new, to love to express ourselves, to share our stories and lives with family, friends and sometimes even with strangers so that they pass from generation to generation.

ABUELOS.jpg

From this table I tell you a little story of the Donzella's in Venezuela, I open a little of my life and what I am, I hope to meet more of many of you and enjoy great gatherings that give us the most beautiful thing in life, cultivate new friendships

Sort:  

Congratulations @mbdonzella! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

What a precious table that is!!
The stories it holds
From strangers and now generations of your family
And even your son writes with pen and paper - not many can claim it these days for sure.

Thank you for the glimpse into your history :D

And it's even more beautiful to be able to share it with you, now you also know about the table hehe : )

Wow! What stories that table will tell! How special to have your grandfather's table at which to write. I, too, often use pen(cil) and paper to write. Sometimes I just have to begin that way!

 3 years ago  

I'm thankful to be included in the contest cuz I might've missed this otherwise. I've read many of these entries and 'yours is captivating' is such an understatement I'm not sure I should click reply.

Ohh!, gracias. Y yo tan agradecida de quien creo el concurso, que me llevo a estos maravillosos recuerdos; y a usted por leer y ser parte ahora de ellos.

 3 years ago  

Eres bienvenido. Estoy usando un traductor para escribir esto, espero que resulte correcto. ¡Bienvenido a Hive! Esta es solo su segunda publicación, es impresionante. * De verdad. * Eres una adición encantadora a la cadena de bloques.

Thank you. I think it's part of us, it's just that it's at this time that I share it. I mean the writing of our lives. hehehe and yes, the translator does it very well. I also use it for now, I hope it also translates correctly. Have a wonderful life inspiring many

 3 years ago  

I understood perfectly.

Let me know if you get confused around here and I'll try to help you figure it out.

Thank you very kindly. Totally confused and discovering everything, everything... hehehe it's not easy but nothing is impossible. if I get stuck on something I'll take your word for it and ask you.

 3 years ago (edited) 

This post was excellent, beautiful, all of the above. Your family name is legend. The competition was really tough and I was forced to consider a lot of factors.

I want you to know I really admire this being your second only post. And for what it's worth, I didn't click a buncha follow buttons out of the 50 something entries but yours I did.

Thank you for competing and welcome to Hive. Should you keep up this quality content and your account has been vetted somewhat you'll have no problem placing high in these types of competitions. You're refreshing for the blockchain.

@galenkp hosts contests like this regularly, you're the first author whose page I'm stopping by to encourage to enter these things. Silver Bloggers hosts weekly contests too. With your quality, it's just a matter of time until people bigger than me see you.

Don't be a stranger!

💖

Consider following @bertrayo, his name comes to mind right now. He'd be a good helping hand for you

ok. Muchas gracias

Oh, my god!. Thanks for the vote of confidence. I'd love to help anyone. 😄

Thank you very much

You're very welcome 😄