You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memoir Monday week 13 How would you describe your faith journey?

in Silver Bloggers4 months ago

Yes, I never knew my Grandfather, he passed before I was born, but I have been told he was very religious, but during prohibition, he was also a moonshiner people called him Shine Thompson. He delivered to the Judges at the courthouse and the Sheriff's office in our town, Dad said he put the moonshine under the back seat of his car and put Dad and two of his brothers back there.

Dad preaching all of the time and owning a bar, these things do not make sense to me. One of my uncles had a huge loudspeaker on top of his truck and he drove around town preaching over it.
I have a crazy family.

Sort:  

Your family probably is far less crazy than you think.
Doesn't everyone think their family is crazy?
Aren't we all crazy?
If you were born and raised in Florida, you may have a bit more "claim to fame" with the craziness:

Florida Man is an Internet meme first popularized in 2013, referring to an alleged prevalence of people performing irrational or maniacal actions in the U.S. state of Florida. Internet users typically submit links to news stories and articles about unusual or strange crimes and other events occurring in Florida, with stories' headlines often beginning with "Florida Man..." followed by the main event of the story. --Wikipedia

Dave Barry, "A Swamp Tale," really nails the Florida character.
We in the Midwest tend more toward that Grant Wood painting, "American Gothic."
Or did - before the 1970s and meth and a lot of drug trafficking and unsolved murders.
Alligators!
Mosquitoes!
Moonshiners, gun-toting Bible-beating preachers.
You: "One of my uncles had a huge loudspeaker on top of his truck and he drove around town preaching over it." Me: Well, God bless him. He wasn't dealing drugs, right? There's that!

I have heard the phrase Florida man. I was born here and so was my Dad, so we both qualify as "Florida man/woman". My husband has a saying when he sees something on the news, he says, only in Floriduh. He was born here, too. The same doctor delivered us and the same preacher married us but not to each other. LOL

 4 months ago (edited) 

We had our share of crazy too, especially on my dad's side. My grandfather and great-uncles ran moonshine too in southern Ohio! They were a rough bunch. The past was "spicier" than most people think. : )

yes, it was, but I would still rather live back then than now.

I bet a lot of men back then made shine.