You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: St. Lukes - A Churchyard Echoing the Past

Thank you Erikah, and it is and gets a little worse each year as does the sense of guilt at not being closer. Despite being so far away, I can be door to door if I need to in about 18 hours which isn't too bad.
Churches like this are pretty much the norm here outside the towns. Some parts of this church you see in the pictures date back to the 13th century but was restored and expanded in the late 1800's .

On the site had been a priory and mill that was mentioned in the doomsday book. It's so odd that I have become fascinated by history as I've got older, I'm not sure if there is a connection there but as a younster I had zero interest in the subject!

Thanks for dropping by and have a blessed week Erikah :-)

Sort:  

It's so odd that I have become fascinated by history as I've got older, I'm not sure if there is a connection there but as a younster I had zero interest in the subject!

Lol, you're not alone with this, I feel the same. When we're young, we are interestd in totally different things. Mostly in the future, not the past, then we realize that in order to do well in the future, we have to know the past, right?

Have a nice week my friend :)