Footsteps In A Nutshell

in Silver Bloggerslast month

skunk cabbage 1.jpg

skunk cabbage

text15.png


This is my entry to week #3 of @ericvancewalton's mind-opening Memoir Monday initiative. For this week we've been charged to write about what we would say to future generations of ours.

Like the second week's prompt, this week's prompt gave me pause: how can I presume to know what the next generations should do? I pondered that prompt, fruitlessly, for a few days.

I could easily think of a few personal cooking tips/aphorisms, such as:

Never try to catch a falling knife.

Always wear shoes when you cook.

Wash both sides of your cutting boards.

If you have a hunch that something is wrong, something is wrong.

coltsfoot.jpg

coltsfoot

The above four sayings, while cutesy and true, are not the stuff a good post is made of.

So, I decided to let poetry tell my thoughts on this matter for me.

I went for a walk along a river bed, and asked the trees.

Here's what they said:

text15.png

don’t stop
to smell the roses

plant roses
so that every walk of your life
is bordered by flowers

breathe and bathe in their fragrance
let your eyes and noses and ears and tongues and fingers
soothe your innards,
let your being
know the light

rejoice at the sight
of coltsfoot and skunk cabbage -
ramps are not far behind!

know that
you are not
your gender,
nor are you
your house
your family
your job
or your appearance

know that
if you do not feel beautiful
you are not being you

know that
your best efforts
will someday be erased

know that
forces that seek to control you
are everywhere -
be mindful of whom you answer to

see yourself in everyone else

text15.png

IMG_20240328_144830444_HDR.jpg

the trees know,
ask them

text15.png

IMG_20240328_144919817_HDR.jpg

teach your dogs
to come when called

image.png

and for the older women:

always take a tissue with you
in case you have to pee

image.png


images are all mine

Sort:  

P.S. I'm still reading this 1970-ish book (reprinted in 2018) and marveling at the stories of George Washington Carver and Jagdish Chandra Bose, and Goethe, and others.
The Secret Life of Plants: A Fascinating Account of the Physical, Emotional, and Spiritual Relations Between Plants and Man by Peter Tompkins, Christopher Bird

The last chapter reminds me of you and Sam Stonehill.

Peter Caddy was the co-founder of the Findhorn Foundation in Scotland with his wife Eileen and friend Dorothy Maclean. He was a vibrant, energetic and inspirational figure who between 1962 and 1979 established a keynote for the hundreds and then thousands of people who would eventually either live or pass through the Findhorn experience.

Findhorn eco-community marks 50 years Published 17 November 2012

The Findhorn Foundation has attracted admiration and ridicule with its ethos of inner spirituality and environmental care. It is 50 years since three friends moved to a caravan in Moray, after listening to "inner voices", and began the Findhorn project. So how did a "wacky" commune in north east Scotland become a model for sustainable living?

Ok, a few more excerpts, but you'll want to read the whole story. :)

The organisation has estimated it is worth £4m each year to the local economy but it started life in a little blue and white caravan.
Peter and Eileen Caddy moved their three young sons into the caravan in Findhorn in 1962 after the couple lost their jobs at a hotel in nearby Forres.
Their friend Dorothy Maclean also moved in with the Caddys. The three had a shared interest in spiritualism and also growing their own fruit and vegetables.
The garden they created attracted interest from visiting horticulturalists and stories spread of exceptionally large vegetables, including 40lb cabbages, grown by summoning "nature spirits".
People with similar beliefs to the Caddys and Dorothy started to move into the area and a community formed.

@samstonehill I can see you building such a community around your electric garden - but you have surely read this "Secret Life of Plants" book (years before I found it!). And people will flock to you. Has it already started?

 last month  

I read that book back in the 70's. It influenced me profoundly, I must say. I've communed with plants, especially trees, ever since.

A dear friend of mine was rejected for residence at Findhorn, so I have negative feelings about that place now.

Rejected!
I suppose an ecovillage can only house so many people, but if we want the concept to spread, we need more ecovillagers.
Well, I'm not surprised you already read the book, back when it first came out. I can see that it inspired you - that's why I thought of you (and keep thinking of you, and Sam) as I continue to read this book.

Closing lines from the bbc.com/news linked above:

"It has much to do with people getting in touch with the non-tangible world, the spirit world if you like. It's to do with people's connection with nature whether that be 40lb cabbages or the eco village that is here."
The freethinkers of the sixties were swimming against the tide but now their ideas of environmental sustainability are mainstream.
"In some ways what is exciting is that it is no longer new," says Anna Rhodes Castro, director of the Findhorn Foundation. "That is why now we can make a difference."

But, but, if they're rejecting people like your friend who apply to be part of this community, how are they to SPREAD and grow?

 last month  

She was very gung-ho about their lifestyle and has stuck to it pretty much ever since, fifty years now. She came with her then boyfriend, and they accepted him but rejected her!
There she was, thousands of miles from anyone else she knew, and they broke up the relationship. She's quite amazing, even today. I can't imagine what they were thinking.

They accepted her boyfriend, but not her: what the heck!
She does sound amazing. Their loss.
We need more progressive eco-communities but not when they revert to the same old small-mindedness that plagues society now.

Thanks for including me in this most interesting conversation.

I downloaded The Secret Life of Plants last year and very much enjoyed the read.

I also have the book, The Magic of Findhorn, but haven't had time to read it yet! Certainly i love the concept.

Am also looking at Kin's Domains. An idea put forward by Anastasia in The Ringing Cedars books. I will very likely write a post about Kin's Domains as i do believe this is the model i will be following and there will be no rejections as your friend experienced @owasco.

https://anastasia.foundation/kins-domains-ringing-cedars/

Here is an interview with a person who is actually doing it:

 23 days ago  

Thank you! So much like this has been coming my way. Glad to have another.

Looking forward to your post! (and your resolution, "no rejections")

I will very likely write a post about Kin's Domains as i do believe this is the model i will be following and there will be no rejections as your friend experienced @owasco.

Ooh, I love it, especially, "The trees know. Ask them."
Of course a song comes to mind.
But first - your photos are fabulous!! The skunk cabbage. Hazel in motion.
And the poems.
Now for the Inkspots!

Why do you whisper, green grass
Why tell the tress what ain't so
Whispering grass, the trees don't have to know, no, no
.... Why tell them all the old things
They're buried under the snow
Whispering grass, don't tell the trees
'Cause the trees don't need to know

 last month  

Have you listened to every bit of music ever recorded?! And are able to remember every single one at the drop of a hat? It's amazing.

you told the blabbering trees
it's no secret anymore

I love this tune!

LOL
Only recently I came across Bang Bang Boom Boom, a classic, but I'd never heard it until someone paired it with the Baltimore bridge collapse.

Bang, bang
Bang, bang, bang
Bang, bang, bang, bang
Bang, bang
Hit the ground, I hit the ground
Bang, bang
I shook the ground, hit the ground
Bang, bang
Bang, bang, bang, bang

 last month  

you knocked me dead

So, I do get it, but it's not my kind of music.

Wonderful poem and it is ironic in a way. Whenever I want answers or clear my head, I just walk to our local woods and by the time I am out, I am back fully focused refreshed and answered!

 last month  

when we are with the trees -
open to their wisdom -
they lead us to ourselves

It seems I am not done writing for this post! Thanks for connecting me to you and the trees, through your comment. This is what I blog for!

Hello @owasco

This is @tengolotodo and I'm part of the Silver Bloggers’ Community Team.

Thank you for sharing your excellent post in the Silver Bloggers community! As a special "token" of appreciation for this contribution to our community, it has been upvoted, reblogged and curated.

silver_blogsilver_white.png

 last month  

Thank you!! You know I love you. I also know no one is likely to read this comment, so I'm talking to the trees. In that way, you will know, whether you read this or not. How fun is this!

 last month (edited) 

This is gold, I absolutely loved it! Reading this did what all good poetry does, it briefly took me to another place.

Over the last few years I've researched, planned, and pined to move away from the U.S. then ultimately came to the conclusion that it won't be in the cards for me. Lately, in retrospect, I can see I've been in a period of mourning, the kind you go through when you realize in your bones that something just isn't going to happen. Subsequently, I've come to the realization (sparked by something @lizelle said a while back). We can create our own sanctuaries of peace wherever we are. This is what I'll be striving for over the next couple of years.

Thank you for your contribution to Memoir Monday!

 last month  

I understand considering moving, and deciding to stay put. The front lines of this war is not a certain place, or places, it's a war in our minds. (I could have put in "you are not your thoughts") It's so very possible to create a sanctuary wherever you are! I wonder if I could do that if physical bombs were falling around me, but right here and now, with the world devolving rapidly into ever more surreal realms, I can do it.

It was my pleasure to contribute. I get an awful lot for having done so.

 29 days ago (edited) 

Like many, I got a strong urge to become an expat in 2016 but, in retrospect, it wasn't for reason I originally thought. I see now if we would have moved when I felt that undeniable urge to we would have avoided quite a few of the negative effects of the pandemic..among other things. By now we would have been fluent in the language, would be citizens, and have put down roots. Now we must dig in and try our best to weather the storm that's coming. Quite a few people feel it, I think.

I'm so glad you're getting some value out of it. The project has exceeded my expectations so far. Already, it's the most personally rewarding of any I've launched in the past seven years.

 29 days ago  

2016 was a turning point for many of us. I became much more open minded. That changed my whole world. More and more of us are opening. I recently spent an entire day with an old and dear friend of mine, who shocked me with her hate of all things conservative a few years ago, when the Covington boys were demonized. This visit, she admitted that she and her friends were self-righteous, and that her mind had been opened. I thought that would never happen.

For me, the realization came a few years later. I knew there was corruption but I wasn't ready to admit that it ran so deeply, was working so hard to divide the country, conquer it with hate, and control everything to such a degree. Now I refuse to see fellow Americans as "the enemy" and recognize the true enemy to be the forces that drive that division. We so desperately need a new and different option but to make that happen many more people would need to wake up.

 29 days ago  

I refuse to see fellow Americans as "the enemy"

yes. This is a primary problem. Because so many of us see half of Americans as the enemy, we are very easy to conquer. This gives more meaning to what the trees told me:

See yourself in everyone else.

I feel surrounded, and protected, by Ents today.

I agree. It’s a race against time at this point. There’s unfathomable wisdom to be found in nature. Our distance from it is one reason we’re in this predicament.

I really like this guy’s YouTube channel. He’s trying to educate his audience that are similarities are greater than our differences:

I love it and this is what we all should try to do

know that
your best efforts
will someday be erased

know that
forces that seek to control you
are everywhere -
be mindful of whom you answer to

see yourself in everyone else

 27 days ago  

I'm trying! The last line has blown my mind - everyone is having a human experience!

This is so lovely. And so true. <3

Wash both sides of your cutting boards.

I feel personally attacked. xD

see yourself in everyone else

So so important. <3 Especially in this divided world. Reminded me of Pink Floyd's Echoes,

Strangers passing in the street
By chance, two separate glances meet
And I am you and what I see is me

 27 days ago  

I love it when my poems bring music to mind. Thank you for that. What you've chosen is fabulous.

You have to wash both sides so they don't warp.

Great stuff! If we could all just see ourselves in everyone else we could solve most of the world's problems in a day.