You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memoir Monday #2 - My Mother

in Silver Bloggers3 months ago

Thanks! A great response too, a post of its own.

my Mom's face

That reminds me of one of my mom's faces. She was a home ec teacher in my high school, one of two. Mom was very proud of my sewing skills, and expected the other teacher to be impressed when I had to take her class (open a can of campbells, add milk and then water kind of stuff). I had superb finishing skills, but the other teacher had different technique for sewing down a facing (one thing I can't remember about sewing is the lingo - I'm old like that) which I simply could not do well, I kept reverting to the one that worked for me and the whole thing was messy, I can still see it today. My mother came home and told me she was ashamed of me. I don't remember if she used that exact word, but the look I can still clearly see after more than fifty years had "I'm ashamed" written all over it.

Our mothers were/are human. Human women.

One cool thing about writing this post is that I have learned I have very clear visual memories, especially of looks on faces, but fuzzy memories of any words that were used. I wonder how that affects my interpretation of events.

Thanks so much for your comment!