What's With My Name?

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

I started, and got pretty far on, an entry to @silverblogger's previous contest. It was going to be all about how I regretted not practicing my violin in high school. I don't mean not practicing enough, I mean not practicing at all, ever. It was a difficult topic for me, as I have so many regrets to choose from, and most of them painful. Because I grew up to take more violin lessons, and to practice assiduously, not practicing in high school was the least painful of all my regrets.

Family interfered with my finishing that post. My now adult children came home for a lengthy visit. Yesterday was my birthday and the 30th of my eldest, who was born on my birthday (15 days late!). That was that; I was theirs for a week and a half, all theirs, and willingly so.

The last of them just left an hour ago, and here I am blogging for @silverbloggers the first chance I get.

-3712595867054526461.jpg

The Birthday Girls


The topic for this contest - how our @silverbloggers handles came to be - is far less difficult! No pain involved, at least not for me.

It's pretty simple actually. When I was younger, so much younger than today-ay-ay, I was a hottie, just like my daughter is today. No need for makeup, no need for fancy jewelry, no need for mani-pedis, just me, all me. I was plenty beautiful for my purposes, which were not always pure! I had brains, looks, health and security. My only lack was in self-esteem, and a sorry lack of that there was.

Considering I had everything I needed, why did I feel so unsure of myself, why did I find so much fault, why could I not keep my mouth shut more, why did I never get the jokes? I could go on about my faults back then, but will spare you. I can tell you I retain at least two of them today: I still don't always keep my mouth shut when it would be better if I did, and I do not get jokes unless they are either supremely stupid, or curiously erudite. These two traits do not make me the life of any parties.

My self esteem is much better now though. I've weathered the trials of motherhood, triumphed in my career, I remain very healthy for my age, and I manage quite well on my own.

What I no longer have is my looks!

I cropped that photo down to only what looks decent. Not visible are the body of a whale and the ragged ends of my silver locks. I smiled carefully so that my aged jowls were not the most prominent feature on my face. We must have taken fifty photos before we got one that I didn't look like a very fat and old woman in! I suppose it wouldn't hurt to put a bit of makeup on at my age, but who has time for that? I'm always the last one ready to go as it is.

So what's in my handle for @silverbloggers? It did not take me long to figure my handle out. Silver Dish came to me straight away. But what do I mean by that? Am I dinnerware? Or a TV network?

@lizelle understandably read my handle incorrectly, labelling me Silver Plate at first. When I corrected her, she said she wondered why I had chosen such an inane name for myself. I can see how it happened. A dish is also a plate, and we often talk about silver plate items, so it was an easy mistake to make. But it completely messed up the intent of my name!!!

The word "dish" can be used to talk about a beautiful woman.

She's a real dish!

See for yourself, right down there in #3:

image.png

My handle is my wish to be considered a dish again. With big brown eyes, full eyebrows, and long, nearly black, hair. Sultry and voluptuous with the body of a dancer and the mind of a mathematician. The one all the boys want. OK maybe not the mathematician part, there were few boys who wanted to spend Saturday nights in the math lounge with me, taking turns at the blackboard (I was at my hottest with a piece of chalk in my hand), but there were a few, and most of them had crushes on me. I went more for the musicians though, especially the mathematically inclined musicians.

So much has changed!

Not everything has changed though. I still go for the musicians.

Sort:  

LOL, You had me in fits of laughter Silver Dish when you pointed out my error! Silver Plate just didn't make any sense, but I'd say you're still quite a dish so have chosen a very apt name;)

 3 years ago  

This was fun to write. Thanks for giving me that little extra bit to make my post more interesting!

I see that you are a very beautiful woman!
And there is no "body of a whale" 😀
Your eyes are very funny sparkling... and the white teeth are all there!
And the hair is a beautiful silver color. The braids can be braided.
We still have a long way to go!❤️

 3 years ago  

What do we have if we can't make fun of ourselves?

Thank you for your compliments. In truth, I do still feel attractive.

 3 years ago  

I loved the story of your name and yes! Musicians are the best haha especially when they are super smart. I am a musician and I can confirm it since I have always been surrounded by friends, acquaintances, even musician family and they are very good people. A big greeting from a Venezuelan who doesn't speak English but met #silverbloggers.🥰❤️

Hey @owasco,
I'm here catching up on your posts, as I tend to fall behind. Yesterday was a busy day around the house for me, living alone. You know how the living alone thing is, it's a lot of work and easy to fall behind with things.

This post was a real pleasure to read, and view!
I'm reminded of this saying when seeing you beside your daughter, and I know a gardener like yourself has heard it:
"The apple doesn't fall far from the tree."

You and your daughter are definitely hotties, and I've seen your attractive non whale body singing before so stop that! haha

She is lucky to have such a great and beautiful mother like you.

I'm happy you had a good birthday, thanks for sharing! :)

 3 years ago  

Aw...

I've heard it said that cameras add ten pounds, but for me it's more like 30.

Belated happy birthday to you - and to your daughter. I suspect that you sell yourself short and that you have simply got more dishy as you've matured!

 3 years ago  

I have yet to choose my name for the sliver community since I am quite new. Once a dish, always a dish. By the way, how do I create my username for this community?

 3 years ago  

You just have to tell @lizelle what you would like it to be. There was a post about it a couple of weeks ago that you could probably still comment on, but I think if you comment on any of her posts, that would do the trick.

Thanks for the compliment!

 3 years ago  

Just let me know and I can add your Silver Bloggers name at any time @positivesteem. Thank you @owasco

is that a younger version of you? :)

 3 years ago  

I have a younger daughter who is the spitting image of me at her age. She's a mini-me in many ways. The one pictured is very different from me really. Thanks for the compliment!

very cool picture :)!