Reflection: Why I Need To Reinvent Myself After My Retirement

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago


Image Source

It has been quite something since I posted in the Silver Bloggers community. One reason is that I have been quite active in the ASEAN Hive Community. The other reason is that since I retired in May 2021, I feel that I have not accomplished much, and so I don't have much to post in this community.

I had always been a very ambitious person and I put a lot of emphasis, effort, and hard work into my career. I retired at the peak of my career as the Resident of Sibu. In that job, I had a lot of authority and influence; my decisions will have a lot of impact on society. Even before my retirement, I know that I am not the type of person who would enjoy his retirement just sipping cocktails at the beach or taking leisurely walks during sunsets. I know that I still want to contribute to society in my new capacity as a retired person and that I want to achieve my fullest potential.

However, it is August 2022, I had not done much in terms of my contribution to society. In fact, I felt quite disappointed in myself and this has to some extent impacted my self-worth. In a way, I feel like a "loser" and that I am now a far cry from the person that I was while I was still working.

The pain that I am experiencing has pushed me to realize that I need to reinvent myself. This will be a personal transformation journey to discover my new self. As someone who has experienced change and overcome a lot of challenges, I know that the "why" I need to reinvent myself is much more important than the "how". This is because once I know why I need to reinvent myself, I will have the motivation and willpower to face whatever challenges, obstacles, and difficulties that may come my way.

There are 3 major reasons why I need to reinvent myself. Firstly, retirement is the next stage of my life which is different from working life in so many ways. I will have more time on my hand and at the same time, the focus on earning a living has become much less. In my opinion, this is the best opportunity for me to reinvent myself. As my priorities in life change, it is time for me to reflect on what my new priorities will be and the future direction of the new phase of my life. It is time for change and I want to be mindful of the changes that I want to make in my life.

Secondly, I want to make the second half of my life better than the first half. I am not bragging, but I feel that I have achieved a lot during the first half of my life. I had few regrets and it has been an incredible journey. From a "kampung"(village) boy at Tebakang to where I am now, I feel proud of what I had achieved. Of course, all these would not be possible without the blessings of God and the support that I received from family and friends. By reinventing myself, the second half of my life will be better than my first half.

Lastly, I will live a more fulfilling and meaningful life and I will also be much happier. The new goals and dreams that I have set for myself will guide on how I will spend my time on a daily basis. I will make sure my days are filled with actions that will lead to my dreams. This will eliminate one of the problems which I faced now, which is to manage my time more productively. Presently I spend too much time looking at social media posts and playing online games. I always feel guilty after that. I will find that the things that do on a daily basis are more meaningful and in that way, I will be more fulfilled and blissful.

I look forward to reinventing myself.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Silver Bloggers Community

The Silver Bloggers Community is started by @lizelle also affectionately known as Sliver-Blond Lizzie. This community has provided a platform for those 40 and above to share their stories and expediences. You can join the community here. I am honored to be part of this community and I consider this community as my tribe. The community runs the Blog of the Month challenge and recently has introduced the Silver Prompt Challenge.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Follow me and stay positive.

Look me up at You Tube
Please watch my previous videos.
Motivational Quotes On Life And Success

Wednesday Motivation: Short Quotes On Family That Remind How Blessed We Are

Short Quotes To Inspire You To Lead A Healthy Lifestyle

Short Quotes To Inspire You To Be Kind

The Gifts Of Caring, Acceptance, Love and Appreciation

Lessons From My Autistic Son
Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

Connect with me on Facebook

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Hive by re-blogging this post.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Hi @positivesteem, I wondered where you'd disappeared to, but glad to see you're back!
I'm sure you'll soon find something to keep you busy again, even if it's only blogging for now. Ideas will come to you, and don't be afraid to experiment with new hobbies, you never know, it might end up in the new sideline business to keep you busy again.
It's quite a shock when one retires and suddenly doesn't have too much to do!

 2 years ago  

I am glad to be back and I hope that after I have set my goals/dreams my time will be spent more productively. I am still in the process of visualizing my dream and that is a good start. Thank you for your encouragement and your suggestions.

 2 years ago  

Hello and welcome back :) This is a beautiful reflection and many thanks for sharing it with us in the Silver Blogger's community.

You have a rich work-life experiences and I believe you will do well in your life's second phase (retirement). I wish you the best on your self-reinvention journey and hope to read more of it in the days to come :)

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much @ifarmgirl for your wonderful comments. This reflection comes straight from my heart and I do hope that I can accomplish more in my self-reinvention journey.

 2 years ago  

You are very welcome. It is heartwarming to read them :) I'm very positive you will do more now that time is kind of at your disposal :)

 2 years ago  

I have more time at my disposal but I must manage it wisely.

 2 years ago  

That is true too and I believe you will :)
!PIZZA

Let me know what do you find to occupy your time and to bé useful for your society.

 2 years ago  

I will update my reinvention journey here. Just read my future posts.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @positivesteem.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@ifarmgirl(1/5) tipped @positivesteem (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much