You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Has The Pandemic Changed My Future Plans?

I find myself caring a whole lot less these days, and I like it. What I mean by that is, I shave less often and don't worry about being the strange guy on the train rocking out to music on my headphones. There is always positive to grasp from struggle. Congratulations on your book! I wish I knew how to promote mine!

Sort:  

Thank you! I'm not sure how old you are but I notice this attitude of not caring has grown with me naturally as I get older. What kind of a book did you write? The key to promotion is to build your platform/readership first then you have a built in audience who wants to read your work. Also, capture email addresses so you can communicate directly with those readers independent from any third-party platform with an email newsletter. I learned that painful lesson prior to finding Steemit/Hive. I had built a huge readership on Facebook then Facebook monetized and limited my outreach to readers. It was a total nightmare and I had to rebuild completely but was able to do it thanks to this community.

I'm in my mid-30's and yeah, it definitely has to do with age and experience, but it's accelerated a lot.

I think my biggest problem in promoting my fiction is that I'm not much of a reader so I am not connected to any kind of reader communities and I'm balancing a lot of other projects and communities. Learning step by step though. I'm finding nice blog readers at hive and building a business at twitter, so hopefully I can connect it all one day. Looking forward to reading more from you!