Comedy at Legends Bar

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

Comedy at Legends Bar



img_0.06450353823690723.jpgJosh Granger on stage

It's been a while since my last stand up comedy gig. October 2020 to be exact. It's more than enough time to become what is known in comedy circles as "rusty".

And I was "rusty" at that gig too due to the one single Covid 19 lockdown we had in Adelaide that lasted a few months.

The Comedy Workshop


A month ago I'd been invited to a 3 week comedy workshop where comedians and entertainers got together and just test each other's material. It was a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon that was not only funny but productive. It's always great to meet new faces.

One the people I met there was Ben O'Brian of Sybiz Software. He invited me to Wendy Torbet's open mic comedy afternoon at Legends Bar on Saturday June 5th.

"Goochie"


Sitting at one of the tables outside of the Legends Bar, I met fellow comedian Nick "Goochie" Gooch. Australians apparently aren't particularly inventive when it comes to nicknames, but he's rocked it to become a local comedy... ahem "legend".

I saw his first performance last year and have seen him refine his act since, dropping jokes that didn't work and incorporating new ones.

He let me in on his latest joke about not paying his electricity bill for 3 months. I didn't laugh at the time, but on stage he fleshed it out so that it made sense and it was hilarious!

He asked if I was going on stage. I said no, that I needed new material and was rusty. He said that he didn't know if he was going on or not as he was just there to take photos.

I knew better. He wouldn't resist the call of the stage.

I said I'd see him later and turned to head inside while he finished his drink and cigarette.

Legends Bar



img_0.22868384504700434.jpg

From the outside, Legends Bar is quiet and unassuming, with a few tables and chairs along Pultney Street and a sign mentioning the day's drink specials.

The main entrance is in the form of a massive stairwell that you'd miss if you weren't looking for it.

At the bottom of the stairwell, I was greeted "Hello!" by Wendy Torbet and a group of other comedians all working out the order of their performances.

I saw Ben O'Brian sitting with a beautiful woman that turned out to be his date, so I ordered a drink while I waited for an appropriate time to make an appearance because they were deep in conversation.

With my drink in hand and introductions settled, it was time for the show to begin.

Wendy Talbot was the show runner and she introduced Josh Granger to host the show. He was quite funny and it was his job to introduce the other comedians throughout the show.

Wendy was brilliant at call backs and adlibs. It's really a next level of comedic skill.

Many laughs were had, and it was great see my friends having improved their performances, even with the reduced stage time.

Pretty soon it was time for a short break, during which I ordered a beef burger with a side of chips.

Beef Burger



img_0.7903498343115478.jpgBeef burger and chips


img_0.9714661791146395.jpgBeef Burger close up


img_0.7016895106270974.jpgSide of chips close up


img_0.6769399578580785.jpgBlurry tomato

P.O.B


To most of us in the world of crypto, P.O.B. stands for Proof. Of. Brain. but for my purposes, and to keep @mattclarke happy, it stands for Proof. Of. Beetroot. Chuckle.

img_0.04009819248120998.jpgP.O.B. Proof Of Beetroot

You can't really call it hamburger without beetroot, now can you?


img_0.19332917886864573.jpgThe inside of the burger

The burger contained the beef pattie, bacon, beetroot, tomato, lettuce, American cheese, aoli, mustard and tomato sauce (ketchup).

Also on stage were my friends Rob Newman and Matt McQuinley.

After the shiw was over, we said our goodbyes. I stuck around to chat with Ben O'Brian some more before leaving.
He wanted to win a "free" beanie hat (you had to buy 4 pints of a particular beer) so that became a story for another time.

Until that time,
Thanks for reading.

Shaidon.


img_0.7283408492603326.jpg
Shaidon's Seal Of Approval

Sort:  

Funny how Covid lockdowns affected everyone, I can imagine how difficult it was or still is for performers, have fun getting back! That burger & chips sure looks good.

 3 years ago  

They certainly do affect people but if it means saving lives then I am all for it. And the burger and fries were amazing.

I like that little basket for the chips, as if they're fresh out the frier.

Hope you get to remove the rust soon.

 3 years ago  

I think there's another one of these things next week, so I am hopefully going to write and practice new material for then. But we'll see.

I enjoyed reading and here also, the lockdown has affected performers. I would love to see your comedy performance. You can upload it maybe. You can use tags such as neoxian, mancave and if it's about movies, cinetv for being curated by these teams.

 3 years ago  

Excellent, thank you. I will definitely keep that in mind.

Welcome :)

 3 years ago  

Thank you.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @shaidon.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @shaidon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 5500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP