Levelling Up

in Silver Bloggers2 months ago

Levelling Up





For the most part I’m content with my life.

However, this contentment can breed complacancy, inaction and procrastination when there some things I could be doing every day to benefit myself and, by extension, everyone else around me.

There’s still a few major achievements I need to make and preferably before the middle of the year if I can arrange it.
Those achievements would seem relatively small to most and some just require a phone call and even just a conversation and some logistical wrangling.

Then again, it might be a matter of letting professionals do their thing, which is most likely the case. I tend to try to overthink things and then nothing gets done.

I have everything I need, I just need the mental focus, financial stability (so I can give it my 100% focus) and possibly a good week or two to pull it all together.

These things don’t have an urgency to them, which is part of the reason why I am delaying and there is a little social anxiety regarding asking for help from strangers (difficulty conveying exactly what I need in detail) which has always held me back in life.

Letting Go Of Who You Were


In a previous post I mentioned how a psychiatrist once told me that I could be free to do whatever I wanted as soon as I severed the link to the past.

It’s a Buddhist idea, but it’s one that tracks.

My current take on it is that if you want to succeed in life, whatever success means to you, it can sometimes mean letting go of how we see and define ourselves.

This is what I chose to do.
I have no interest in hospitality, and never thought I could do certain things, however in order to survive I’ve had to learn new skills and get new qualifications.

Courses included things like RSA (Responsible Service Of Alcohol), Responsible Persons Badge, Basic Gaming (gambling) and a Barista course.

It also meant saying yes to jobs that I once thought were beneath me, or I felt I wasn’t good enough to do.

Last week, I learned to peel parnsips and beetroot and slice beans and tomatoes the way they want them sliced.
Peeling parsnips is by far the most enjoyable of these tasks.

I also learned supervisor skills.

Last night I learned how to upgrade membership tickets for football games. It will make working a lot easier.
One of the other staff members was appreciative of me reminding her of the process as she’d forgotten.

The mindset shift came from a podcast called
Ice-T’s Daily Game where he mentioned that he works every single day. He works on television during the week and on the weekends he’s writing music and organising tours for his band Body Count.

So my goal was to work as many days of the year as I can. Not out of greed, but for my survival.

I’m still losing money, just not as fast as before.

Old Dog New Tricks





There’s an old adage that says “You can’t teach an old dog new tricks!”. It really doesn’t apply to humans and it’s never too late to learn new things.

The best investment is in yourself.
Learn new skills, new techniques, discard nonsense and anything that doesn’t push you forward.
Put your needs first, then and only then can you think about helping others to elevate themselves.

The game isn’t over until it’s GAME OVER.
Until then, it’s time to Level Up.

“Are you ready, Player 1?”

Thank you for reading.

Until next time, insist on being treated with dignity and respect and treat others the same.


Shaidon

All content, including photos and text, are produced by myself except where indicated otherwise and sources are always supplied. I do not use A.I. so your upvotes support a genuine human being producing original material.

Sort:  

Hang in there @shaidon - I enjoyed reading your post, especially the bit about "letting go of who you were."

I agree with the idea that if we could let go of the past we could adapt more easily to present circumstances. It is something that Machiavelli talks about in The Prince - how those who are successful when circumstances favour them fail to adapt to new circumstances and come to ruin.

Actually, what really struck me was the coincidence of reading about "letting go" twice in one session on Hive. The other also mentioned it in the context of Buddhism, but specifically to reject the idea that "letting go" was Buddhist, so you might find it an interesting perspective... Not "letting go" but "non grasping." Here's the link:

https://hive.blog/hive-194470/@mituoshizhe/it-is-not-about-letting-go-but-non-grasping

All the best,

David

 2 months ago  

Thank you for your response. That was an interesting post.

I definitely agree with you. Its never too late to learn new things. Its only our sincere investment that counts. As mentioned, its better to be busy always, else we get into unnecessary thinking, spoiling our whole day.

 2 months ago  

Thank you for reading and commenting. I hope you have a great weekend.

Quite a good life lesson!

 2 months ago  

Thank you.

Congratulations @shaidon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 93000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 94000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List