Rest and Reflect

in Silver Bloggerslast month (edited)

Rest and Reflect





It’s Sunday afternoon as I start to type this, but as to when it eventually ends up getting posted that’s another story.
Right now I am trying to consolidate my superannuation from several companies into the one account.

This has proven to be a more daunting task that I had anticipated as one of the companies has merged.
For today, I am just gathering account names, numbers and amounts and then I will ring each one and find out what their fees and charges are for consolidation.

Given that the company that merged, merged into a better superannuation provider than I currently am with (according to a friend), I need to compare and weigh up my options as to whether I stay or go.

What I have done is turn off the various insurances with all of them for the time being. There’s no point paying 6 lots of insurance when there’s chance that I am not even covered for whatever might happen to me accident-wise.
This is not financial advice, and you should definitely have a work-related insurance policy just in case.
All that I am saying is that it’s probably better to streamline your superannuation into the one account and only pay insurances via the superannuation, and only those that cover your situation fully.

I use a free app / service called Ubank (not a paid ad placement, although I wouldn’t say no…). Not only does Ubank allow you to set up multiple savings accounts, it also allows you to connect your superannuation accounts to it as well.

I was losing AU$40 a day in insurance to one of them! You seriously have to keep track of these things!
In the next 20 years (how long it will be before I can access superannuation) that will work out to be AU$292,000!

That’s insane.

Anyway the invitation code to use Ubank and give us both AU$30 each (after the third transaction with the VISA debit card you get sent 6 days after signing up) is 22E4HQQ.

Australians only, sorry.

I need to record another episode of my podcast. I haven’t done anything since December 2023 and I am itching to get something out there, but that will be a Monday job after I see the physio.

In the evening, I went to Fred’s Van. It’s a soup kitchen that I volunteer at once a month. We have a good crew that work there too, we catch up beforehand and talk and then talk afterwards. It’s a great little support network.

A lot of the food is donated by local supermarkets, cooked and dished onto plates as people line up.
It’s inside a hall, so there’s tables, chairs, napkins and cutlery for the clients that turn up. My job is to help set up the tables, chairs and lay the tables and then help dish up. It becomes somewhat easy when you only need to do the one thing for close to 50 people.

The menu varies quite a bit each time I go there, and they are there every week.

Today I also had to mute / block someone who’d been on Steem / Hive for the last 8 years!

I will not tolerate personal attacks or abuse on my own posts. Imagine being triggered by a word on my work clothing?! Lunatic!

Go outside, get some fresh air and touch grass occasionally. It might just save your mental health.


Sometimes you have to break the rules

Thanks for reading.

Until next time...


Shaidon

All content, including photos and text, are produced by myself except where indicated otherwise and sources are always supplied. I do not use A.I. so your upvotes support a genuine human being producing original material.