You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: QSL Card And Vintage Ticket Clusters - Day 30 - The 100 Day Project

in Silver Bloggers2 months ago

I was fascinated by bus tickets and the tickets for the art deco lift from the promenade to the beach. One holiday I hoarded scraps like these in a shoe box and reviewed them every night (ie turned each precious thing over in my hands as if I was absorbing whatever secret thing they embodied) when I was supposed to be going to sleep. The whole thing must have gone in the bin at the end of the holiday.

Sort:  

Nice that you still have the memory though. So much is being lost with the digital age. The tactile nature of turning paper things over in your hands is a not so obvious but great example.

There is a hospital visiting programme where the British Museum (I think) takes in artefacts for patients to look and hold and turn over (with conversation, I'm guessing) Apparently, a proven therapeutic benefit.

Sounds like a lovely idea which reminds me . . . when I was trying to find easy things to do with my yarn I discovered fidget blankets. They looked like a fun thing to make. Maybe I'll look into them again once my cluster book is completed.