March Goes Out Like A Lion - by Sunscape

in Silver Bloggerslast month

amazing-nature-1.jpg

Just when we thought winter was over here in western, NY. It returned with another 6 inches of wet snow.

featheredfriends-birds-6.jpg

The Robins have returned and are busy looking for insects in the lawn. The snow is just beginning to fall, perhaps they know what is heading our way.

featheredfriends-birds-4.jpg

I see the Flicka's looking for food too. They are such a beautiful bird and I have seen two pairs this spring/winter.

feathered-friends-flicka-3.jpg

It wasn't long until the snow was 4 inches deep and my husband was kind enough to shovel a path to the greenhouse.

amazing-nature-6.jpg

The plants are not too happy with the weather's turn, but I have a heater running nonstop to help keep the temperature about 50°F.

hive-garden-photography-9 (1).jpg

The hydroponic lettuce is getting leggy with the heaters running. I will harvest some larger leaves this weekend to make a nice salad.

amazing-nature-5.jpg

With the temperatures below freezing the water flowing in the pond has turned to pretty ice. I had to turn off the pump and remove it from the icy water. I wasn't sure if it would do well with another week of cold temperatures.

amazing-nature-6 (1).jpg

The snow covered the ice on the pond by the end of the day, you could not see the ice at all. I'm sure removing the pump was a good decision until the weather warms up again.

amazing-nature-8.jpg

Mika loves leaping through the snow and her fur gets full of snowballs every time she goes outside. Thankfully, she does not mind the warm bath to remove the snow from her hair. Well, that's enough rambling for this morning's post. Stay warm my friends.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! Very strange weather! The snow was quite thick. But the doggie really enjoyed playing on the garden. The winter birds look very healthy and well fed too.

 last month  

Yeah, the snow came fast and very heavy. Mika loves running through the snow it is like a playground for her. I am hoping next week the weather turns back to spring as I have onions that need to be planted.

Hope you’ll be able to plant lots of onions! Mika would be supervising your work too!

Caught you off-guard sneaky winter, always does a quick return before spring arrives, well here it's much the same except opposite.

Hope the plants indoors and outdoors manage to wait another week for warmth.

Flicka's look an interesting bird not sure I have heard of them before.

!LUV have a great day, Mika appears to be having some.

sunscape, joanstewart sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

 last month  

You are right, Joan Winter snuck back in on us. The early spring flowers took a major hit sadly. The heaters are running 24 hours a day in the greenhouse. Hopefully, this weekend the warmth returns so I won't have a huge electric bill. ;-). Have a nice day.

I recall living inland, cold snap with possible frost my Dad would be quite upset with losses encountered in the garden. No greenhouses here, not really an option unless you have a large property.

Electrical bill has become ridiculously expensive everywhere, that is when we have any at all. Have a wonderful day as well.

Not quite what you expected but I don't think all these snowing would be here much longer.
The birds are really beautiful and your dog covered in snow looks so adorable.

 last month  

Thank you Edith today the sun is shining and I think the snow will melt. My dog loves running in the snow and chasing the little snowballs. Have a great day.

Most of ours melted, but the culvert at the end of our driveway is more full than I have ever seen it. Must check the cellar for dampness...

 last month  

Today the sun is shining and I hope most of the snow melts. I have a busy day ahead up potting peppers and tomato seedlings.