You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Potage Parmentier: Potato Leek Soup

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

I agree with one of your girls, bacon always the bacon.
I do love leek and tattie soup although I always think of Wales not France. In fact, anything to do with leeks, I think of Wales as it is their national emblem and see it all over the place!
What a fantastic recipe, and I am with you on the dollop of sour cream too:)

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Oh, yes! All of the family love the bacon, except me. I find it okay, but, I don't crave it.

There is a reason you think Wales when you think of leeks.

Welsh archers fought bravely in a field of leeks, and as a reminder of their bravery and loyalty, the Welsh began to wear a leek in their caps every St David's Day. This is the legend that appears in Shakespeare's play Henry V written in the 16th century during the time of Elizabeth Tudor.

In fact, they come from the Mediterranean and the Middle East. (who knew?)

I love this soup and make many variations of it. I love it in the autumn and winter and voila! In the summer, I turn to the cold version. Of course, so you can tell the difference, they call it vichyssoise - it has its own following! I love it.

Thanks for stopping by!! :))

!LUV

In fact, they come from the Mediterranean and the Middle East. (who knew?)

Not me! Thank you for that Denise, I learn something new here in Hive every day:)

vichyssoise

Ah yes I remember that now!

I might follow your recipe sometime soon:)

 2 years ago  

That would be cool and you won't be sorry! It is so easy, go heavier on the herbs, I didn't not every person likes a lot.

Ah yes, I would herb it up a bit!
Yes, it does look gobsmackingly good so I know I won't be sorry.
Thanks Denise and have a wonderful weekend:)