You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Lily of the Valley turns 90

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

They don't make them like they use to. A very special day for sure. I've got so few pictures of my parents and that saddens me. I love the black and white picture of when your parents were married, precious for sure. There is an old saying, "What doesn't kill you only makes you stronger." Your mother's will to carry on despite the many hardships she has faced in her life is something we all can learn from.
Lilly seems like a real colorful character, a person that seems to have graced so many others who have come to know her.
Best birthday wishes to you Lily. I'm sure you have heard this before, but it is worth repeating, you have raised one heck of a splendid daughter!

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

Your comments brought a few tears to my eyes as you've described Mom to a T; many call her a legend, and that my strong little Mom certainly is! They were certainly made of stronger material back in the day!
Mom still reprimands me at times and even though I don't always agree and get into a huff, when I think about her words afterwards, I realise that she was right! Never too old to learn not so;)
Thank you for the big compliment and for your wonderful feedback; I also love that wedding photo; Mom and Dad both look gorgeous!

Parents never stop parenting. I can still hear my mom calling me Robert when she got serious and I needed to listen, otherwise, she would just call me Bobby.

Have a wonderful day and don't get sassy with Lily. 😁

 3 years ago  

LOL I enjoyed reading your last comment Robert!