You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Facing Disappointment in my Youth.

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

At the time it was very hard to deal with, but things have turned out for the bettyer. If i would have had the opportunity to make a living playing baseball, I may have missed out on the thing I treasure the most in my life, @farm-mom.

I taught special education for 30 years and absolutely loved every minute of it.
Now, I didn't make quite as much loot as a pro baseball player made, but who needs too much of that dirty paper anyway😁!

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Yeah. You would have lived in an entirely different world.

When you were deciding with your father, what were the cons? I'm wondering...

The biggest negative was the fact that I wouldn't be able to play basketball in college.
The university I went to was governed by the NCAA and at the time if an athlete got paid to play any sport, the signing of a professional contract would exclude that person from playing any other sport in college.
To be totally frank with you, I was not a very good student in H.S. and the only reason I was accepted into college was because of basketball and baseball.
Sports is what got me into school and kept me in school.

After my injury, knowing that baseball was over for me, I continued to play hoops and I got real serious about school. At that point I majored in special education and went on to get my master's degree, graduating with a 4.0 GPA. In my first two years, I was constantly on academic probation.

I'm a glass-half-full kind of guy and looking back at it all over the years, things worked out great!

Have a wonderful day and thanks for the wonderful replies.