Birds of a Day - Victims of the apocalypse - Gallinula -Moorhen - family Rallidae

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

Birds of a Day - Victims of the apocalypse - Gallinula -Moorhen - family Rallidae

I think that most people are afraid of a planetary apocalypse, but at the same time, they, with their own hands, create local apocalypses.

It can even happen on a small lake in the city center.

At first glance, there is nothing wrong with cleaning the lake's waters from debris and, at the same time, removing excess reeds that occupied most of the lake.

But, the result of this was that the birds from the Rallidae family, who chose thickets and for a long time considered them their home, were left homeless and the opportunity to hide from predators.

I found such a picture on one of the lakes of the city of Chisinau, Moldova.

The unfortunate birds ran along the devastated shallows and could not understand what was happening to their house.

They looked like the victims of the apocalypse who were in panic.

Some of them looked blankly towards the coast, it was a tragic moment.

In this photograph, I believe, is a young individual - Moorhen, which has not yet received the color of an adult bird.

20201026180049.jpg

This is what an adult bird looks like. She has a sad look, she lost her family.

20201026180835.jpg

At such moments, it is very painful to see the suffering of small birds and not be able to do something for them. After all, they lead a sedentary lifestyle and this lake and its reeds have been their home for many years.

20201026180610.jpg

What is this bird thinking? They are not able to curse, revenge and hate, she will have to move on, perhaps to the next apocalypse.

20201026180352.jpg

This picture I took a few months before this tragedy, on the same lake. These reeds were a safe and beautiful home.

20191022164949.jpg

Photos taken with a Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX300 camera
I edited a photo in the program PhotoDirector, which I also installed on my smartphone.

Author @barski
Ukraine

For my publications, I do not use stock photographs, it is fundamentally important for me to use photographs that I have made with my own hands for publication and I can name them - authorial work.

You can go to our blog on the Hive platform by clicking on the bee.

bEEEEEEE.jpg

Sort:  

Водяная курочка. У них лапищи как у динозавра!😃

Thank you for this incredibly thoughtful post. I am sickened by all the people in the world who never think beyond their own needs. It heartens me to know that their are others who care. ❤️