Margo's High Dive

in Feathered Friends4 years ago

June 3rd, 2020

Margo and Friends


I like the name I gave one of the grey jays that visit us a lot, so I will continue to use it. Margo is a Grey Jay bird.

I had a pretty nice weekend, it started like all weekend on Friday and I had several photographic opportunities. On Sunday I was able to capture a couple shots of a robin from my upstairs window. They are pretty flighty birds around these parts and hardly ever stand still for a moment.

Robin 1.jpg

This little guy kept popping in and out of view. You'll see a little farther down in the post Margo, on a beam, it was in and out of this beam are that the robin kept jumping. I did manage to get two shots though before it took to wing and scooted off into the wood. Here is the second image of him.

Robin 2.jpg

Two of the best shots I have ever gotten of a robin. I was pretty happy and glad that they came out.


Next up the Magpie. These birds are almost as hard to capture as the robin, but they are a lot more plentiful and visible than the robins, however they are just as flighty as the Robin. This first shot is him on the ground just hopping along and eating bugs or doing what ever when they are on the ground.

magpie 1.jpg

He was a lot further away than the robin and did not come out as clear, it knew I was up here taking its picture, it did not stay grounded very long at all before it took flight to quickly flit away.

magpie in flight.jpg

They are fast little birds and very camera shy, still they are pretty nice looking.


Now for the star of the show, here she comes and here she goes, everyone knows it is Margo.

grey jay tiny.png

"Yes, I can do this, all I have to do is lean forward, just a little bit more, ohhh I hope I don't miss, I want to put on a good show" Margo looked down at the beem as she built her courage up for her first dive attempt.

She knew she could do it, "I can do this, I see him over there watching, wondering, I need to put on a nice show for him". She glanced over one last time before the plunge...

grey jay dive.jpg

The Landing...
grey jay on the beam.jpg

"Did you see THAT!!! I did it! I did it." Margo squeaked and chirp in a happy tune, as she made her landing. Close to the edge, but firmly on the beam. Like a gymnast nailing the landing on a balance beam flip.

Margo struts her stuff a little bit more on the beam chirping happily as she moved along.

grey jay on the move.jpg

"Ah-yes, that's what I came for" she says, as she looks down to the deck and sees all the goodies and a nice pan of water for splish-splashing in.


Blogging does not have to be all work and no play.
To sign-up and get a Hive Blog Account
Make a post have some fun today.


Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

Nice flight photo of Margo

Thanks, I just love it when they come to the porch, and one of them, or more seem to like having their pictures taken.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for the resteem and curation.

I do love seeing those magpies! Great shots of the Robin. They do not stay still for long! And Margo is a lovely gymnast! 😀. Thanks for posting to the #featheredfriends community. ❤️
!tip

I like our little grey jay flock, they are pretty active funny birds at times

I suspect their behavior is similar to our bluejays, and they are a hoot! We were just laughing at them today. My daughter had a cup full of sunflower seeds and some peanuts and was sitting on the steps feeding them to the Chipmunks who were climbing up into her lap to get their peanuts. A bluejay showed up and started with his alarm call and the chipmunks all scattered and the Jay flew down and grabbed a peanut for himself! 😀

🎁 Hi @bashadow! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Alphabet Hunt- F Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.