SMAP Contest Round 37: My life with crows

in Feathered Friends3 years ago (edited)

Every week @nelinoeva hosts a fun contest in the Feathered Friends Community. This week's theme is The Bird You Want to Be.


We got rain, finally, over the weekend. It was a long time coming. The summer was hot and dry and six months long. The sky poured a wet confetti on us to celebrate the closing of this hot year. Nobody was out flying. My dog and I were inside, too, cuddled on the couch, looking out the window at the water party.
DSC_6677.JPG
And then, suddenly, there was Bo. (entry photo ⬇️)
DSC_6648.JPG
Bo, my first and best crow friend. The territory outside my window no longer belongs to him. He lost it to another family, the Melbies.
DSC_1746.JPG
But in a torrential downpour when everyone is huddled in the trees, you can trespass to go visit your friend at her window.
bo rain.jpg
DSC_6674.JPG
And hang out in the eaves and preen yourself, because that's what crows do when they're just hanging out with their family. When they're just whilin' away the hours.
bo rain two.jpg

I have so many connections with the crows in my neighborhood.
Like the beautiful Lorena, the blushing bride of Bo.
lorena grp.jpg
Lorena, the brilliant and curious and shy and slender beauty queen.
DSC_6557.JPG
She taught me how to play catch. You can watch a video of that in the post I made about her majesty.

And then there's my crow family. The family from whence Bo came. With Junior and Lod and Prince Biggie. The family that is always home, and always comes to greet me when I come outside or come home from work. The family that has partial ownership of my vehicle, though they have yet to make any financial contributions to help pay off the loan.
DSC_2465.JPG
Publication1.jpg
DSC_2627.JPG
DSC_1363.JPG
And the Parkers, with whom I developed an unexpected bond while helping their young to overcome their ailments.
parkers.jpg

DSC_2303.JPG

DSC_2196.JPG
And the beautiful Luna, partner of Charlie, who lives at the school and keeps watch over their chickens.
DSC_7464.JPG
I have so many wonderful and enriching relationships with these birds. They keep me present and make me happy.
DSC_7966.JPG
The question of the contest is, what bird do I wish I could be?
Well, truth be told, I don't actually wish to be a crow. I am very content with the relationship I have with them now, even if I am tethered to the earth. I have dreams of flying with them. I dream of spending time with them the same way one might dream about spending time with friends and family.
Of course, it would be wonderful to spend a day with them in the air, to feel the wind the way that they feel it. To soar and play and cause a ruckus at the downtown roost.
DSC_0081.JPG

DSC_0199.JPG
To take naps in trees and wade through shady puddles on hot days.
DSC_2975.JPG

DSC_2459.JPG
Were I to become a bird or to come back as a bird in another life, however, I would most definitely want to be a crow. But right now, I am completely content with my role as honorary crow. As friend to crow. As admirer of crow.
DSC_5427.jpg


Thanks for checking out my entry to the #smap contest! You can use the link at the beginning of the post to see the rules if you want to enter. It ends Sunday, so you still have time. Your pictures don't need to be professional quality, either, just fun and/or interesting.
DSC_9199.jpg
instagram: @se_pdx_crows
Art in NFT Showroom
A percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support the community.

DSC_3466.jpg

Sort:  

magnificent portraits !! each time I think this is your best pic and then I see the next, and the next.....🙃
I love the one where we see below the wings....Red wings, really..? 😊

Thank you!!! That's Lod, the father of Bo and Junior and Prince Biggie. The orange from my car reflected on his wings, and I took the creative liberty of enhancing the colors so he looks like lava. Or a phoenix. He deserves to be portrayed with even more splendor than I can achieve with a mere photograph, but sometimes I come close.

Very nicely done, indeed !

Thank you!! 😊

Crows are amazing :) I don't think I would want to be one, though. They always seem to be arguing 🤣

They are!!!! hahaha!! But that's just because they're completely honest with each other. And a little dramatic sometimes. Ok lots of times.

lol never a dull moment around them! Which really is a good thing :)

!PIZZA

Your bond with the crows is so strong. I am sure they accepted you as one of them.

Is that crow eating peanut butter? :)

artisan walnut and cashew butter.
organic.

Only the finest for crows. They eat better than I do, apparently.

Except maybe when they're pulling rotten food out of the garbage bins... their feeding style is classified as "opportunist."

So is mine.

HA! well if you're ever in Portland, I'll toss you a peanut.

It had better be organic.

Congratulations @corvidae! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 20

yippee, thank you!!

You're welcome @corvidae 😊👍 Have a nice day!