SMAP Contest Round 41: Red Tailed Raptor

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

Every week @nelinoeva hosts a fun contest in the Feathered Friends Community. This week's theme is RAPTORS.

DSC_0282.JPG
Are you not enraptured by this lovely raptor? This is a Red Tailed Hawk. I saw this beauty scoping something out from a perch up in the trees. They then flew down into the grass at breakneck speeds in pursuit of their prey.
They landed.
Grabbed the creature.
Gobbled it up so fast I didn't have time to get a picture.

That poor earthworm. He didn't stand a chance.

True story! I didn't know that hawks ate worms. I always figured they only went after meaty things like mice and rabbits and other birds. But I guess worms make a good snack.

!!official entry photo!!⬇️⬇️
DSC_0273.JPG
!!official entry photo!!⬆️⬆️

DSC_0240.JPG
I took these pictures at the beautiful San Juan County campground in Washington.
At around the same time, an eagle came to land on a rock that was out on the water.
DSC_0253.JPG
Lots of gulls, cormorants, even seals like to hang out on that rock. When the eagles show up, the other birds go bonkers, swooping and scolding the raptors, but to no avail.
DSC_0250.JPG
I also saw a Merlin, a type of falcon, as identified by my neighbor camper, a fellow bird nerd and also an expert on birds of prey.
DSC_0800.JPG
I was hanging out, feeding my campground crow buddies
DSC_0730.JPG
when suddenly a tiny little raptor swooped in super fast and tried to snag one of them!

That b@st*rd!

I've actually seen this happen once before in Portland, with the same outcome. The crows growl and chase the tiny raptor off like it's no big deal. Falcons can probably capture crow babies, but I think in general crows are safe from them, especially when they are in groups. Falcons are considerably smaller than crows.
DSC_0805.JPG
But if they ever mess with my buddies again...


Thanks for checking out my entry to the #smap contest! You can use the link at the beginning of the post to see the rules if you want to enter. It ends Sunday, so you still have time. Your pictures don't need to be professional quality, either, just fun and/or interesting.
DSC_9199.jpg
instagram: @se_pdx_crows
Art in NFT Showroom
A percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support the community.
All the stuff (pictures, words, etc.) I put in this post and any of my other posts is mine (unless otherwise stated) and can't be used by anyone else unless I say it's ok.

Sort:  

post_featured.png

🙏😊🐤

p.s. I love the crow in the drawing!!

Great captures, especially the one pic with the hawk flying in with open wings, nice work.
Congratulations, well deserved.

Thank you! 😊

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

yay thank you!!

I am enraptured 🙂This is a very beautiful bird, the hawk.

Indeed! I will tell them you said so next time I go up there.

The hawk pants are pretty funny when they are walking on the ground.

I know, aren't they? Big ol' pantaloons. They look like festival people pants.

Cool ... this first bird is not easy to find and photography here where I'm :))

Same here. I live in the city and the only time I ever see them is when the crows are chasing them off in big, noisy groups.