Feathered Friends SMAP Contest Entry - A Black Crow and A Blue Jay

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

This is my entry for the Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 58 which is hosted by @nelinoeva! The theme for this round is "Corvids (Corvidae)". You can learn more about the contest and how to enter HERE!

smapcorvidscrowandbluejay3-10-2022-1ok.jpg

Back in December, at about nine in the morning I walked to my back yard to take some photos of anything that I might find interesting when a big beautiful black crow flew between my house and the neighbor's house. It happened unexpectedly and fast so I wasn't able to capture the crow with my camera. I walked as quick as I could to the front of the house hoping that the crow would decide to land on a tree nearby, which it did!

smapcorvidscrowandbluejay3-10-2022-2ok.jpg

The crow flew to the very top of an Evergreen tree just up and across the street from where I live.

smapcorvidscrowandbluejay3-10-2022-3ok.jpg

I was able to get a few photo of the crow before it flew off. I could also tell that the crow had something in its beak.

smapcorvidscrowandbluejay3-10-2022-4ok.jpg

To me, it looked very much like the crow had a peanut in its beak.

smapcorvidscrowandbluejay3-10-2022-5ok.jpg

The next morning I was out around the same time and saw, what I believe to be, the same crow fly by in the same pattern. It was again carrying something in its beak and that photo is the first photo that I used in this post. Here it is again with an edit that I did on it.

smapcorvidscrowandbluejay3-10-2022-6ok1.jpg

This time it landed on a Maple tree that is right next to the Evergreen it had landed on the morning before. It appears to me that on this morning the beautiful crow was carrying a dried leaf.

smapcorvidscrowandbluejay3-10-2022-7ok.jpg

I decided that I would be outside the next morning to see if I could catch him (or her) again. I waited and waited but alas the crow didn't show up. The next few days we had bad weather and, sadly, I've not seen the big beautiful black crow since. These are the two trees that I photographed the crow in. I've also shown photos of both of these trees previously.

smapcorvidscrowandbluejay3-10-2022-8ok.jpg

I did get another surprise not long after when some blue jays started to visit in the trees by my bird feeders. I think that this blue jay may think that I can't see him but blue jays are smart, as are most birds, and he is well aware that I'm watching him.

smapcorvidscrowandbluejay3-10-2022-9ok.jpg

smapcorvidscrowandbluejay3-10-2022-10ok.jpg

The blue jay is probably hoping I will give him a peanut but I learned my lesson in doing that once. It did look like it tried a safflower seed but I don't think he liked it very much as he didn't go back for another safflower seed.

smapcorvidscrowandbluejay3-10-2022-11ok1.jpg

I watched one pecking at some bark as well. It does make me a little sad to think that the blue jay may really be hungry so perhaps I will give in and put some peanuts in the very far end of the back yard or in the alley behind the house. They have been visiting by the bird feeders fairly regularly so I hope they aren't going after the other birds that visit. They can be very aggressive towards other birds and even people so I don't want to encourage them to hang around the bird feeders. They are a very beautiful bird though and I like to be able to photograph them when I can. Maybe throwing a few peanuts will keep them from coming in closer to the feeders. I will be sure to keep updating on the blue jay situation but in the meantime I've certainly enjoyed getting a few more photos of them! 😊

smapcorvidscrowandbluejay3-10-2022-12ok.jpg

All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 96 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

Thank you very much @pixresteemer!! 💞

I love your post Dee, the crow and jay, both you captured so nicely. It seems a peanut to me, what the crow got in the beak. Here, our crows eat almost everything, even mushrooms. Sometimes they rummage the trush.

Thanks so much Neli!! Yeah I've seen them rummaging in dumpsters also. The ones that hang out at Loch Raven are fed well by people and the goodies they find in nature. They are pretty cool birds! 💖

lovely, lovely! especially the 1st few shots. extra thanx - from your post I found out this week's prompt..

Thank you very much @qwerrie!! Hope to see it!! 🙂

Wonderful shots of the crow and the blue jays, Dee. Winter is a difficult time for the wildlife.

Hope all is well and the temperatures are warming up. 💕

Thanks so much Jo!! Our Winter hasn't been too bad but it does sound like we have a lot more blue jays in the area. There are so many kinds of berries that they feed on and the ground hasn't been very frozen for a long length of time. Our weather is pretty erratic right now but I saw some flowers along a trail last week and the daffodil leaves have started popping up. Have a terrific weekend Jo!! 💕

You could set up feeders in another area, more suited to large birds? I do think that crow has a peanut!

Thank you @wrestlingdesires!! I thought about that and even looked around yesterday. I may even decide to just make something in the near future. I think it is a peanut and I wonder how long he has been flying with it..lol. 😁

lol, maybe he was taking it as a present for his mate! A large bird feeder could entice him to visit more :)
...

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL !LUV

OH NO!
You are out of jokes for the day!

@wrestlingdesires you can call @lolzbot a maximum of 4 times per day.
Level up by buying more $LOLZ so you can share more jokes per day!

@deerjay! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thanks so much @wrestlingdesires!! Yep, I know a couple of people that leave treats and even little trinkets for the crows that visit them. I'm definitely thinking of getting another bigger feeder for the far end of the yard. 😉💖

Did you get one yet? I'd love to see it!
!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@deerjay! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

What did the sand say as the tide came in ?
Long time no sea.

Credit: reddit
@deerjay, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (4/4)

No, not yet but if and when I do then I will be sure to show it off. 😊

You can always make a free one out of a gallon jug :) ...

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(4/15) tipped @deerjay (x2)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.