Feathered Friends SMAP Contest Entry - A Harbinger of Spring

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

This is my entry for the Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 64 which is hosted by @nelinoeva! The theme for this round is "Birds In The Grass". You can learn more about the contest and how to enter HERE!

smap-birdsingrass4-23-2022-1ok.jpg

My photos in this post are of the American Robin which is a songbird in the Thrush family of birds. The Robin is considered by many to be a harbinger of Spring in some parts of the United States. I remember as a child looking for the arrival of the Robins to know that Spring had finally arrived or was certainly right around the corner. Of course, now I feel like I see them while it is still Winter out but my heart will always associate them with the arrival of Spring. It makes sense that when Spring is close the ground thaws making it easier for the Robins to get to the worms. You will often see them on a lawn, especially after a rain, poking around in the grass and ground for worms. That is how I got these photos that I took in my back yard. These next two photos made me laugh because all I can think of when I see them is that the Robin is listening for the worms so that is what I titled them .. lol.

smap-birdsingrass4-23-2022-2ok1.jpg

With the grass growing and the Robin crouching down it almost looks as if it is floating on the grass ...

smap-birdsingrass4-23-2022-3ok.jpg

... but that is just an illusion and here he (or she) is standing up straight. When I saw this Robin behind a branch that fell from a tree, I thought it would make a nice photo as the branch had a curvature close to that of the bird.

smap-birdsingrass4-23-2022-4ok.jpg

I caught this Robin in another part of the yard. It was kinda' hop-running away from me and my camera.

smap-birdsingrass4-23-2022-5ok.jpg
smap-birdsingrass4-23-2022-6ok.jpg

The Robins seem to like hanging out in the back yard and I know, in the past, they've had nests in the Corkscrew Willow tree back there. A year or two ago I got a photo of three young Robins learning to fly. They were sitting on a wire and the mommy bird was nearby. Not the best place for young birds trying to master the art of flying when you have cats in the yard but I'm pretty sure none of them met a sad fate by the cats. Here is a photo that I took that day. Not the best photo of the three young feathered friends but possibly one of the better ones that I got that day of them.

smap-birdsingrass4-23-2022-7ok.JPG

I think that's about all I got for this one folks so I'll catch you later "peeps"! 😁

smap-birdsingrass4-23-2022-8ok1.jpg

All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

Sort:  

Wonderful shots ! delightful_journey.png with birdies @deerjay 😉

Thanks so much @barbara-orenya!! I love your beautiful selfie!! 💖

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 102 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
14

Thank you so much @pixresteemer!! 💞

Such a joyful post Dee. You made me smile with the listening for the worms robin. 😀
If the robin is a messenger of spring over there, his European cousin is a well known for Christmas cards. 🙂
Great shots, this is such a lovely bird.

Thanks so much Neli!! The European Robin is a really pretty bird! I can definitely see why it would look great on a Christmas card! 😊💖

This bird looks very beautiful, my friend, thank you for sharing.

Thank you very much @jasonmunapasee!! 😊

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thanks so much @bhattg and @indiaunited!! 💖

Had to chuckle at the robin listening for the worms. They are a beautiful bird and I love it when they arrive back here in the Spring and start patrolling the lawn looking and listening for movement under the grass. You captured it perfectly. 💕

Lucky shot of the three young birds, Dee.

Thanks so much Jo!! I'm glad it made you chuckle..lol. "Patrolling" is a perfect word to describe them as they run-hop around the yards! Have a wonderful week ahead!! 💕

Nice little collection of birds on the grass love that cute little fella in the first photo good luck in the contest @deerjay 😊

Thank you so much @kohsamui99!! 💕

I thought I commented on your post when I clicked on your link on @nelinoeva's post, but there you go I got it wrong.
I love your little red robin and his colours , and would so enjoy listening to his singing music.

Thank you very much Angie!! They are very recognizable with their red breast and I think I will always associate them with the arrival or close to the arrival of Spring. Wishing you a beautiful week ahead!! 💐

truly lovely I love our American robins and we get them in droves here. I also adore the English robin and it makes me long for English Springtimes. Lovely @deerjay

Thank you so much @donnadavisart!! The English Robin is a very pretty bird! I love hearing the birding in the early morning! 💖

Wonderful cute birds you have there @deerjay 😊

Thanks so much @tinman88!! 😊

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @thenortherner.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you so much @thenortherner and @ecency!! 🤗💖