Preening Birds in Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 49

I went for a little potter around the nature reserve today to see what birdlife was visiting.

The grey heron was back and having a preen on the branch overhanging the lake.

The gulls with the black spots behind their eyes are black headed gulls in winter plumage.

They are quite big birds and pretty common around here. They squawk a lot when there's food about. I'm the same ....

A photobombing swan in the background preening it's feathers. I think some of these birds take more care of their appearance than I do.

Thank you to @nelinoeva for starting this interesting contest.

Photos by @ellenripley - Julie S. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you so much @ecency.

Fantastic shots and close-ups.
The heron is so concentrated. 🙂
Black headed gulls are common here too, but I haven't seen them in summer plumage yet.

I think with a beak like that, I'd concentrate on what I was doing. 😁

Hahaha, absolutely. 😀

Ditto that, when there is food around I'm squawking away, waiting to be called for diner. Once the meal is on my plate, all squawking ceases. 😁
Some great pictures, so vivid.

Thank you. Yes, you've got to love your food!