entry smap 27 titled: on the treetops

in Feathered Friends3 years ago (edited)

from a photographer's perspective one of the best situations to get good bird photos is often when they are standing on top of a tree. first, they are easy to spot. as long as you are not facing into the sun the lighting is likely very good and there are few disturbing elements. also most birds will often remain in one place once they position themselves on a treetop. that means there is often sufficient time to set up for the ideal shot. the main challenge is distance so a powerful zoom is great to have.

painted_storks.jpg
with their huge size and long legs these painted storks (Mycteria leucocephala) look comically out of place on the the thin branches of treetops but that is often where they build their nests so they must actually be quite at home there.

large_grey_babbler_keoladeo_edited.jpg
A jungle babbler (Turdoides striata) is probably more likely to be foraging on the ground in a noisy flock but i was lucky enough to come across one alone on a treetop at keoladeo national park. this one has that typical intense angry expression and piercing eye. and indeed when in a group there is as often as not a quarrel going on. with it's uniform grey coloration this babbler seems quite mundane on the ground but the blue sky backdrop makes it stand out much more.

common_myna_jaipur_edited.jpg
A common myna (Acridotheres tristis) can be found pretty much anywhere, including on top of a tree. they tend to be invasive and are viewed by some as pests but these clever birds can be taught to talk. they have even been known to function as judges in a shadow guessing contest right here on hive

p1200068_eded.jpg
everybody is familiar with common pigeons (Columba livia) in cities all around the world however these birds can still be found in their natural habitat on cliffs and rock ledges or occasionally resting on a treetop. in the wild they are officially named rock doves with that classic green to purple shimmering neck and two dark bars on the wings.

plum_headeded_parakeet.jpg
one of my favorite species we occasionally see in our garden is the plum-headed parakeet (Psittacula cyanocephala). they normally arrive in pairs. this photo is the male. the female has similar coloration but a duller blue-grey tone on the head. they make
an adorable and affectionate pair climbing around our trees and we are very happy to have them visit. they typically investigate holes made by other birds in our coconut trees but i have never seen them nesting. they can be taught to speak so don't be surprised if they also should happen to make an appearance as shadow guessing contest judges one day.

red_vented_bulbul.jpg
red-vented bulbuls (Pycnonotus cafer) nest in our trees and we enjoy seeing them daily. they are high and low, eating both insects in flight or chickoos and other fruits in the trees or on the ground. in case you are wondering what red-vented means... all birds both male and female have a single hole for urination, defecation and reproduction called a cloaca or vent. when birds mate there is no penetration, it is more like a kiss with their vents. so with their bright red vents i suspect that is one hot kiss.

Sort:  

This birds look very cool, lot them I not have here in Estonia 😄👌👌👌

thanks so much. all the photos are from india. except for the pigeon all the birds have native ranges limited to around india and some also in south east asia.

Cool :) ... I hope you can photography them more, and I'm sure there are bird more what we have not seen jet also :))

india has an incredible variety of birds, many of them with beautiful bright colors. i often post photos of them in this contest

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Nice! You had me at the cover and impressed a little more each time. Good call saving that red-vented one for last.

😜🤣🤣

the lucky birds have no grounds for any conflict around gender related mispronoms

I was going to comment, but I'm restraining myself.

Nice double wording.

You're too kind.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 64 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

Fantastic photos and great information! I didn't know about the red vented 'kiss'!

consider it a hot tip

Excellent post, the birds of different kind, all posing nicely. 😀

thanks so much. this weeks theme is particularly good.

Totally agree with your first paragraph! Photos that don't have a sign of human presence are usually my favourite. Great shots you have there!

thanks so much

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

thanks a lot much appreciated

Stunning photos! My favorite is the one of the storks. I was thinking, I am never able to get good shots of birds and I appreciate you pointing out the need for a zoom lens. I have some extra on the lens I have, but it's not enough. I'd need a different lens.

I wasn't aware that pidgeons are more than city dwellers. I've never seen them outside of any city in Canada. It gives me a different perspective on them.

aren't those storks amazing even when you can't see the splashes of pink 'paint' or the striking wings.
i like the how the line of the heads of the storks runs parallel to the general shape of the tree.

Yes, that's exactly what I saw in the stork photo that caught my eye, exquisite photo. No pink required.

how the line of the heads of the storks runs parallel to the general shape of the tree.

Hi, I have manually curated your content as you have posted a photo that I found interesting. Your post will be included in my Photophile series of posts in my blog. Keep on sharing great photos!

Here's a slice of !PIZZA for you!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Connect

Trade


@eolianpariah! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @photophile.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (4/10)

thanks so much. i was not familiar with you and your curating. much appreciated

Excellent shots @eolianpariah! The Storks are definitely my favorite out of the bunch but they are all just terrific!! 💖

thanks so much

You're very welcome!

!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@deerjay! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @eolianpariah.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)

Excellent shots, congratulations! The birds are so beautiful! I wish you success in the context.

thanks so much
!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@olgavita! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @eolianpariah.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)