Meeting with a Woodpecker

in Feathered Friends4 years ago

We have a little piece of land deep in Polish countryside. On that piece of land we have a little orchard with apples, cherries, peaches and pears. One corner of the place is left for whatever and overtime some wild trees started to grow there. Few pines were planted, cause pines are cool, some birches - they are cool too and lilac bushes. On the edge of that part we have 3 giant walnut trees. And this part looks like a wild forest.
The place is quiet and away from the roads. Perfect spot to chill and listen to the bids. Oh yes... there are birds there! In summer, because of the foliage, you can only hear them. But in winter they don't have many spots to hide and it is a perfect time to shoot them!

One December day I decided to go there just for that. I left my beloved macro Sigma at home and took the Tamron for a walk (even though it is a zoom lens I really like the bokeh from it too!). Once I saw a flock of Bohemian waxwing birds and Eurasian bullfinch. So yea.. I was hoping to catch some of them. Unfortunately they weren't there at that time. But besides all the sparrows and Great tits I saw this guy!

Great Spotted Woodpecker (Dendrocopos major)


Great Spotted Woodpecker 1.jpg

Great Spotted Woodpecker 2.jpg

You can read a lot about it in Wikipedia so I will not repeat it :)
It is quite a common one where we live and since we have woods around, it often visits not only the orchard, but also a garden close to the house where we have some old apple and plum trees. It never stays long and gets spooked very easily. So nice to see him around the trees hopping up and down looking for larvae in the bark.

Great Spotted Woodpecker 3.jpg

This meeting was very short too. I hid under the trees trying to
get closer to get better shot, but I didn't want to scare him. I stretched my lens then and started to shoot.

Great Spotted Woodpecker 4.jpg

Great Spotted Woodpecker 5.jpg

Few minutes later he looked around, checked on me...

Great Spotted Woodpecker 6.jpg

Great Spotted Woodpecker 7.jpg

... and flew away!

Great Spotted Woodpecker 8.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Tamron 70-300mm lens
(ƒ/10, 1/320, 300mm, ISO800)
All photos and text are my own.

Q banner.png

»»-------------¤-------------««

Sort:  

Finding the birds, hoping they sit long enough to capture. A pretty woodpecker, well captured during winter season not fighting the leaves distracting the lens.

Always fun when we see the larger birds that behave for us.

Oh yes. I wish I could shoot the small ones like that too.

What a beautiful Woodpecker! Your plot of land sounds like it must provide habitat for birds of all sorts. They must love it there.
Great photos! Thanks for posting them to the Feathered Friends Community! !Tip

I don't think they nest there... but I am not sure. Hard to see anything in the pines. They sure have lots to eat though as there are always fruits left every year.

Thanks for the tip :)

I'm always surprised when I find a nest and realize that an entire family was raised right under my nose without me knowing it!

Always so great to get an unexpected beauty my friend.
If you want nature to come alive around you, then you need to find a comfortable hidden spot to sit for at least an hour.

I can stay motionless for much longer and it works most of the time.
If you can hear them, you will see them.

Take care!

Thank you!
Yes.. I can sit and wait. They are just sometimes so hard to see when the trees have leaves on. Much easier in winter :)

Always easier when the trees take their clothes off in winter my friend.
Birds cannot hide in naked branches Lol.

Take care!

A beautiful bird, it feels very satisfying when you can take pictures of birds like this. 😎

It is very beautiful!
I wish I could take more... the constantly green trees do not help :p

Beautiful bird in beatiful shots. It is always nice to have telelens to shoot any wild life from distance. I wish I could upgrade my gears. Good job @ewkaw

Thank you very much! It is so handy to have it indeed. Hope you manage to get one soon. So much fun to watch the birdies :)

I never really see a wood pecker in my life, except for Woody woodpecker. It's a cartoon series in 1980ies. So thanks for your photos 😊

They are so cool! But hard to spot, cause they are really fast and hide among the trees. You could sooner hear their woodpecking :)

!discovery 30

Thank you :)


Questo post è stato condiviso e votato all'interno del discord del team curatori di discovery-it Entra nella nostra community! hive-193212
This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it. Join our community! hive-193212


Loading...

🎁 Hi @ewkaw! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: A Sublime And Beautiful Sunday Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

So long since I've seen one of those. Great photos!

Thanks! I actually only see them (or hear them) in Poland.