Sort:  

I would google "applying compost to garden South Africa" as it depends on what you putting into the compost, some great ideas.

My Dad used everything from the kitchen, bought farm manure sifted it together then turned it into the soil. Around trees he would have a trench ring add some compost, top will a thin layer of soil then water daily for food to get to roots of the trees. Vegetables similar except no rings applied around plants, simply evenly spread then some grass clipping to hold moisture in.

Thank you so much. Will do it.

The older folk really knew how to grow things. I am slowly learning all of the tips and tricks on my own, as my grandparents and my parents are not into gardening. But in the 10 or so years that I have been making compost, it is amazing to see how rich the clay soil has become. Still some areas where the clay becomes rock hard in the summer, but most of the garden's soils are so rich in life, insects, worms, microbes and so on.

My Dad was an avid gardener growing up on small holding outside of Meyerton, yes tips and tricks all learned as a child working shoulder to shoulder as a family.