Some Close Up Photographs of the common fiscal or fiscal shrike (Lanius collaris)

Everywhere that I go I see the fiscal shrike (Lanius collaris) on treetops. They are hunters and I think gives them a nice vantage point to scout for food. They also have a lovely song that greets me when I walk past them. For a fierce hunter/predator, they have the most lovely song. Maybe that is how they lure their prey.

It is not easy to get them nice and close up. I think this might be due to their hunting style, but sometimes they come down from the treetops for a visit. If I get the opportunity to capture them on photograph I always jump! They do not sit still for long. They are also very shy for the camera. I was able to sneak up real close from behind a bush; he or she did not see me. Lucky me! I got some nice closeups. So please enjoy this beautiful bird from the Southern tip of Africa!

The Four Shots

000.JPG

00.JPG

0.JPG

1.JPG

The Praying Fiscal Shrike

_DSC7226.JPG

The Attempts

_DSC7232.JPG

_DSC7224.JPG

_DSC7210.JPG

_DSC7207.JPG

_DSC7201.JPG

_DSC7171.JPG

_DSC7174.JPG

_DSC7044.JPG

_DSC7144.JPG