Taking a Bath and Having a Snack

1.JPG

Every morning, there are a couple of birds patrolling the pond. I sit and drink my coffee and watch them play. I always forget to take my camera with and when I run back to get it, they are done patrolling. This morning, I took the chance again and made it in time! I saw a baby olive thrush (Turdus olivaceus/luister) being fed what looks like a poor baby gecko. It also took a nice bath!

But sadly, my old camera with its cheap zoom lens could not autofocus quickly enough and I missed a couple of shots, plus some of them are out of focus. But I thought the moment was truly special and I wanted to share it. It is the second time in my life that I have captured a moment like this, and in both cases, my camera did not bring its best side. So hopefully third time lucky.

2.JPG

The baby sits on the rock whilst the mother and father patrols the pond. Every morning, I hear them in my room, zooming past my room with their familiar call.

3.JPG

Unbeknownst to me, the mother was on her way to feed her young!

4.JPG

I just held the shutter button down and I caught the feeding in action! But the ISO was too low, the shutter too slow, and the perfect rare moment was not caught in perfection! Alas, such is life. But see below what I think was a poor gecko:

5.JPG

6.JPG

7.JPG

It sat between the rocks for a little while longer, but it then took a quick bath! Again, the shutter was too slow because the ISO was not high enough. How amazing would it not have been if the camera just worked!

8.JPG

9.JPG

But in any case, what a moment to have witnessed firsthand. It was truly a special and intimate moment I think few people will ever experience. I hope that you enjoyed it.

This again just showcases how important it is to garden, to keep bio-diversity afloat and alive. When we kill all these small critters and bugs, the birds will also go away, on their search for a place where more bugs are. It is imperative that we gardeners protect the bugs so that the birds can have food.

I hope you are doing well! Happy birding.

All of the musings are my own. The photographs are also my own, taken with my Nikon D300 and Tamron 300mm zoom lens.

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Some lovely moments in here Prof.

Thank you so much. What a good day it will be to get the Ph.D. done! haha

Patience, patience and more patience is all that I can say Prof.

Where can I buy some? While we are at it, where can I buy some time as well to make up for all the lost time! Haha.

Not for sale, as it is free only if you really want it and time is non negotiable !LOLZ

Where did the ice cream man get his driver's licence?
Sundae school.

Credit: reddit
@fermentedphil, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @papilloncharity

(3/10)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

The poor tiny gecko served its purpose. It fed a bird. Thanks for sharing this and it must have been special to witness this, although it's always a somewhat different kind of experience when you're behind a camera ;<)

Yes, so true! But for me it was better actually because I have myopia or short-sightedness. So the picture was better through the camera because I forgot my glasses! But yes, living through the camera, as most people do today, is not the best way to experience life.

And the poor gecko! Luckily, there are many of them in the garden. Thank you so much for the visit!

Congratulations @fermentedphil! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - April 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

It's sad about the gecko, but hey the birds is also a living thing trying to survive 🍀. It's the circle of life!! And now I'm going to have to watch Lion King again..

!LUV

Enjoy! And thanks for the visit. Yes, the circle of life is not always pretty in its violence but it needs to happen so that we can have these beautiful birds! And the big birds of prey also feed then on these smaller birds and animals.

You are so right when you talk about keeping biodiversity afloat.
You have captured some wonderful pics, especially the one of the mother feeding her youngster.

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it. Sorry for only replying now! Crazy couple of weeks. So true right, we can play such a crucial role in keeping biodiversity afloat and in place.

To the left of me, to the right of me they cut the trees without a thought I kid you not my neighbour through a plum line down the edge of the wall and cut everything hanging over!

My garden is alive with butterflies, birds and insects even weeds left to grow for their flowers right now.

What a lovely turn of events although the camera is not responding to commands, the story is told with captures you have!

!BEER for the end of the day...., sundowner time!

That is so sad when people chop down trees and plants without any reason or for very stupid reasons. I always think of that creed: it is only when the last tree has been chopped down that we will realize we cannot eat money. It is only after we have destroyed all of nature when we will realize that we have screwed up. Now we chope down vast amounts of nature to build new units, new buildings.

There are stupid people everywhere!

Too many of them! We need to chop them down and not the trees haha. Just kidding.


Hey @fermentedphil, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.