Finally I took some pictures of the Eurasian Hopoe

This weekend I visited the Lake Neusiedler together with Stefan in Burgenland. We were able to take several nice pictures of birds, although we were not that successful like last year in spring where we could visit this place a bit earlier in spring which is definitely a better time for bird photography but still we were successful and I finally was able to take some pictures of the Eurasian hopoe. I am already looking for a long time for this bird since it is pretty seldom here in Upper Austria where I live but in Lower Austria and "Burgenland" it is more common.

DSC_4485.jpg
Eurasian Hopoe sitting on a reed roof. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/8000 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time09:36 am
ISO640

I am very happy that I took some pictures of this bird this weekend since I am already waiting for a long time to finally be able to photograph this beauty. But as beautiful it is, it still smells very bad. The bird has a very effective anti-predator defense in the nest, this bird produces a liquid that smells like rotten meat, which helps to held off predators.

DSC_4381.jpg
Hopoe with insect for the offspring. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/4000 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time09:31 am
ISO640

DSC_4470.jpg
Flying hopoe in front of the breeding hole. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/2000 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time09:35 am
ISO640

DSC_4477.jpg
Hopoe sitting on the reed-roof. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/8000 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time09:35 am
ISO640
Sort:  

Greetings my friend.
I wonder how our African Hoopoe (Upupa africana)made it all of the way to Austria?
If I can find the short cut that he flew then I can also visit Austria 🤣

Only joking as I Googled the Eurasian Hoopoe and it is the same bird in Europe and Africa 😇

Blessings and have a slice of !PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@florian-glechner! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @papilloncharity.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Thank you. A lot of bird fly from africa, Asia to europe every year during bird migration so nothing special.

Oh yes, I know that and just wanted to get a smile from you.

They are such fascinating birds! I didn't know that they are smelly!

They use their smelly poop and other secretion to defend against predators.

Certainly an interesting defense!

What an amazing bird! Very beautiful. We should have them too, but unfortunately I haven’t met them yet.

They Are very shy. And they need a more or less dry soil.