Red Baked Shrike on a elderberry bush

Whenever I am taking a trip to different wastelands here in Austria I often encounter the Red Baked shrike that is more or less common in this regions. I often see it at wastelands in Upper and Lower Austria. In German this bird is called "Neuntöter" - because it has a very specific way of killing insects and storing them on thorn bushes. Their "victims" die 9 deaths when being picked on the thorn bushes for storage purpose. These birds remind me on "Ninjas" because of their black stripe in the face exactly where the eyes are located.

I am always very happy when I see this bird, because then I know I am on a spot where I can potentially also see some other interesting birds that use the wasteland as a breeding spot. But of course I also like the brown, grey, white colouration of the feathers of this bird a lot.

Z62_8125.jpg
Red Baked Shrike sittingon a elderberry bush. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon Z6II
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/2000 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time02:07 pm
ISO100

Z62_8137.jpg
I like the black "Ninja" Face. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon Z6II
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/2000 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time02:07 pm
ISO100

Z62_8126.jpg
Red Baked Shrike sittingon a elderberry bush. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon Z6II
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/2000 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time02:07 pm
ISO100