Short-toed treecreeper

The short toed treecreeper is a cute little bird that is looking for food on the barks of trees in the forest. I was very happy when I took a picture of this bird some years ago and also this year in spring. This bird is one of the birds that is most of the time running up and down on several trees to look for some prey but they don't fly so much. As a small woodland bird with cryptic plumage and a quiet call, the short-toed treecreeper is easily overlooked as it hops mouse-like up a vertical trunk, progressing in short hops, using its stiff tail and widely splayed feet as support.

DSC_7568_2.jpg
Treecreeper running up a tree. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/1600 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time1:10 pm
ISO1000

This is another bird on my List that I want to complete, I want to take picture of as many bird species as possible for me. I still need to create a document with the species I already took a picture of, with the help of this document I can concentrate on the species that I still miss and go to special places where they can be found. On the most birds I still have to do some research when and where to find them but I think patience is a good thing here. I don't have stress.

DSC_7568.jpg

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/1600 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time1:10 pm
ISO1000

DSC_7580.jpg

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/1600 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time1:13 pm
ISO1000

DSC_7583.jpg

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/1600 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time1:13 pm
ISO1000

https://peakd.com/c/hive-106444

Sort:  

Nice captures. The short toed treecreeper reminds me of our woodpeckers in the way he walks up the tree. Does this bird make a pecking sound like the woodpecker?

I have to admit that I don't know but I am pretty sure it doesn't because it has a completely different peck, it just searches for insects that hide on the outside of the bark.

Thanks for reply @florian-glechner. I couldn’t find anything that mentioned it made a pecking sound. It does have a different beak than the woodpecker.

It is amazing how these and other birds seem to defy gravity as the bound from one spot to the next. Wonderful photos.

Yes always amazing to me too, but their little weight probably helps them a lot.

Great shots of this little guy. His name always make me think he might be part of a gangster mob. 😁 I love your goal of collecting photos of all your area birds.

Yes but some of them, like the eagle owl, or other night hunter will be difficult. If you know their sleeping spot then it would be way easier. But this is difficult to find.

Wow! I didn't even know about the existence of such a species of treecreeper! Thank you, great photos.

Amazing