Watching a great spotted woodpecker at the cementary

One of the spots where I take some pictures at the moment is the cementary forest in Linz near my home since I don't have to drive so far and after work I still have some time with light at least for a short time. Other spots usually wouldn't be that good since I would loose too much time when the sun is still shining. But since days are getting longer and longer now in spring this will soon also not be the problem anymore. The great spotted woodpecker is the most common woodpecker here in Autria and I usually find it in forrest all over the country. In spots like the cementary I also can get close to them. Unlike the treecreeper they don't run up the tree with their feed but fly to a spot where they belive there is some insect and often you can also hear the woodpeckers when they peck on an old tree.

Z62_5452.JPG
Great spotted woodpecker on a tree at the cementary forest. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon Z6II
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens + FTZ
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/2000 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time05:41 pm
ISO2000

Z62_5480.jpg

Camera usedNikon Z6II
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens + FTZ
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/2000 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time05:41 pm
ISO2000

Z62_5481.JPG
Starting to fly. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon Z6II
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens + FTZ
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/2000 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time05:41 pm
ISO2000

Z62_5482.jpg
Great spotted woodpecker already flying. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon Z6II
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens + FTZ
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/2000 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time05:41 pm
ISO2000

Z62_5447.jpg
Bird climbing a tree. Picture: Flroian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon Z6II
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens + FTZ
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/2000 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time05:41 pm
ISO2000
Sort:  

Beautiful photos! I love the inflight shots.

Curated with an Ecency vote

Thank you, I like them too, but I i only got some "Sharp" Pictures from the start, I also had some more inflight shots but they turned out blurry.

A true bird watcher, you are. @florian-glechner !

Thank you. Yes one of my Hobbies.

👍Yesterday I was in the grove and heard these guys drumming on the trees

Nice, it is Always nice to hear the live around you especially in spring when everything awakes from the Winter and when the First migratory birds Return.

The flight taking is absolutely majestic. Simply delightful to see!🌺

Thank you I was there in the right second. :-)