Day 12

in Feathered Friends4 years ago

It is almost 2 weeks since this lovely hen started hatching a bunch of eggs. It is the third time that this is happening to our chicken coop since we had our first hens, almost a year ago and every time I am amazed by the dedication and patience they demonstrate.

IMG_20200616_182715_1.jpg

They are spending 3 weeks in total stillness, they hardly eat or drink and they have only one thing in their tiny mind, to protect and hatch their eggs. Maybe I sound like a city boy that visited the grandparents at the village but I am truly and honestly mesmerized by their behavior!

I took the 2 shots above the day she was ready to start hatching and she hasn't moved since. At first she was sitting at a different place but I made for her this cozy nest and adding a few eggs that I had saved from the previous days in order to maximize the chances for many off-springs :)

Those two are six weeks old and were born right here in the chicken coop too. You can see what they looked like about a month ago, here. I feel very strongly about doing things the natural way and I am really proud watching our coop to grow with a slow but steady rate!

IMG_20200614_202954.jpg

And one sunset for closer because you can never see too many sunsets :)

I have used for those photographs my Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 Pro so they don't have the usual quality but the good thing about the smartphone is that I always have it in my pocket and I am taken a lot of pictures that I would had otherwise missed!

All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

Follow me on Instagram!

Sort:  

I love hens but I can’t have them in the place I live in..
Thank you for a great post!!

Thank you for stopping by :)

You should be very proud! That is a lovely hen and a beautiful photo! Best wishes for many baby chicks! Thanks for posting to #featheredfriends. !tip

Thank you @melinda010100, I am so glad you like her!

I do and I featured her on the front of the Feathered Friends curation post this week! Hope to see photos of her chicks, soon!

Hopefully you will :)

🎁 Hi @fotostef! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Shadow Hunters Rule Change Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Your post reminds me of the stories my Father would tell me of my Grandmother. To help make ends meet during the Great Depression, she would incubate hundreds of chicken eggs at a time using old kerosene incubators. He said she would stay up all night making sure the eggs stayed warm and turning them.

Yes of course chickens have saved a lot of people from starvation. Fortunately nowadays we are keeping them for the "extra mile" in our diet, not out of necessity!
Thank you for your support :)

Little chicks have grown so well..! some others are awaited, I'm impatient to see them !
thank%20you%20poussin.png for this cool pics !😊

Thank you for your lovely comment :)

I have picked your post for my daily hive voting initiative, Keep it up and Hive On!!

Thank you :)

The sunset looks great! Pretty soon you will have new baby chicks. That's gonna be fun

Yes, it is going to be a lot of fun :)
Thank you for stopping by, @creativemary!

My pleasure! Have a great day!