Wagtails love looking at bodies of water

in Feathered Friends8 months ago (edited)

DSC03027.jpg

I like these birds with long tails. They are impossible not to notice. Nature endowed the wagtail with a long tail. Hence their name. For small bird species, this is a violation of the proportion of the body structure. Surprisingly, even with such a long tail, wagtails look harmonious.
The tail of these birds is constantly shaking. Especially when they are on the move. They love to run on sidewalks and playgrounds. I see flying wagtails much less often than running ones.

DSC03020.jpg

I noticed that I often see wagtails near water bodies. They are not waterfowl, which is strange. I see near the water much more often than others, to whom nature also did not give the ability to swim.

DSC03031.jpg

So this wagtail purposefully ran along the embankment. The bird did not stop next to the wildly growing reeds. The wagtail ran to where the river was clearly visible.

DSC03029.jpg

And now it is already freely available with a view of the water. It looks like he's watching closely. It is interesting such a hobby of a bird to look at the water.

DSC03008.jpg

The bird heard the sound of the camera and became alert.

DSC03007.jpg

I became more careful. Didn't mean to scare the bird away so quickly.

DSC03009.jpg

If the wagtail is not disturbed, it can look at the water for a very long time. It will stand without moving. Today I disturbed her with my presence. Although I was at a distance, the bird saw and periodically ran away from me along the parapet. But I still managed to take a few photos.

Sort:  

Congratulations @galca! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 16000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge