Show Me A Photo Contest Round 39 - Tightrope Artists

Hi once again my bird-loving friends. We welcome another Round of SMAP, Show Me A Photo, Contest with a theme. This is hosted by @nelinoeva and the contest post could be found here in case you haven't heard about this contest yet. Read up and join us on our weekly quest. It's fun! Invite your friends too.

For this week the theme of SMAP is

FLOCK


The photos below are a common sight in the city. Pigeons perched atop electrical lines waiting for a good Samaritan to throw some food for them to eat.

image.png

image.png

Caution though. You could be one of those pedestrians who have the misfortune of being right under them when they poop 😂😂😂 It could get really messy.

But, did you ever wonder where all those pigeons you see perched on electric lines along the streets go to retire for the night?

I was out one night buying some takeout food when I had this impulse to look up and to my amazement saw the answer to that question.

IMG_20211006_133511.jpg

Apparently, these pigeons prefer the convenience of the electrical lines and don't bother to look for a tree or a nest to pass the night. Just like camping out but with no tents. It wasn't raining that night. So it made me wonder if they'd still be up there on those wires if it rained. Well, that's for a rainy night for me to find out. Stay tuned.

For this contest, I am submitting the photo below as my entry.

IMG_20211006_153912.jpg

And that's all for this post. Wishing the best to all the participants. Keep safe and healthy. Thanking all our sponsors as well, The Feathered Friends Community and @melinda010100, without whom this contest would not be the success that it is. Thanks to you!

(All photos are mine.)

Sort:  

@tipu curate

What's with birds and hanging out on electrical wires? Did their parents not teach them about the dangers?! 😀

Thank you for the clarification. I often wondered where pigeons roost at night! @gems.and.cookies

Terrific photos! Good luck in the contest.

Upvoted and curated 💯

Pigeon is their name. Danger is their game. Haha. Maybe their parents taught them about the thrill of living on the edge (of an electrical wire?)

Seeing them up there was really a surprise. I would never have guessed where they roost at night.

Thanks for the words of appreciation and for the tip. Greatly appreciated @ninahaskin. Made my day.

Haha!
You're very welcome!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
15

that's a lot of birds

Couldn't believe it myself. Thanks for dropping in 😊

Great photos! I particularly love your entry photo. They are definitely having a camp out! I do hope they have places to go when it rains. Let us know what you find out, but take your umbrella!

@melinda010100 !! How's the vacay coming along? Nice of you to take a break from your break (???) to leave some words of appreciation. Thanks. And yes, I will let you know if they are still there when it rains 😄

This is something I haven't seen, pigeons on wire at night. The entry photo is outstanding.
Wonderful post, my friend!

Thank you @nelinoeva. I am so happy you liked it 🥰

Once again, and as always, the pleasure is all mine 🤗

This nightshot is stunning 😃 So many birds, I suppose it looked surreal !! were they sleeping..?

Thank you for this lovely comment @barbara-orenya. The scene actually brought back memories of an old movie I saw when I was still a kid, Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds. That was a horror movie 😱 It really was surreal!

Hard to say from the distance but I believe they must have been sleeping 😴😴😴

well, the only moment we do not hear them making some weird noise is when they sleep ..😁

True, true. . . 😴😴😴